AirwaySim
Online Airline Management Simulation
Login
Username
Password
 
or login using:
 
My Account
Username:
E-mail:
Edit account
» Achievements
» Logout
Game Credits
Credit balance: 0 Cr
Buy credits
» Credit history
» Credits FAQ

Author Topic: So about all these Class 1 Airports....  (Read 443 times)

Offline Zombie Slayer

  • Members
  • Posts: 4721

The 3 people who like this post:
So about all these Class 1 Airports....
« on: May 31, 2019, 04:19:50 PM »
When can we expect any of them to think about upgrading? In 12 years, none, not one, of the 57 class 1 airports I serve has so much as thought about upgrading to class 2. Palm Springs, for example, features 26 flights a day from 19 carriers, yet it remains a class 1 airport. The only option becomes to drop service as we move away from props to jets, and also leaves a -lot- of demand unserved in many cases.

Overall I think the airport infrastructure feature has been a success, but I do feel there should be a quicker move from class 1 to 2 to 3 to accommodate larger planes, or maybe a player initiated option where money can be invested in infrastructure, and maybe other airlines using said infrastructure have to pay fees to the airline owing the gates for x period of time if they fly there.

Just some thoughts....
Co-founder Elite Worldwide Alliance
PacAir President and CEO
Designated "Tier 1" Opponent

Offline Sami

  • Administrator
  • Members
  • Posts: 17189
    • AirwaySim - Are you the next Richard Branson?
Re: So about all these Class 1 Airports....
« Reply #1 on: May 31, 2019, 05:28:50 PM »
Since the upgrade system started late (mid-game) and class 1->2 expansion is at the bottom of the priority list for conditions to trigger the upgrade I think it might take a while for the system to 'stabilize' (keeps prioritizing the big airports for quite a while).

However .. I am expecting that some tuning is needed in any case.

(which game world in question here?)

Offline Talentz

  • Members
  • Posts: 1128

The 2 people who like this post:
Re: So about all these Class 1 Airports....
« Reply #2 on: May 31, 2019, 05:34:59 PM »
Yeah, I agree. There is a big drop off in terms of airports that grow vs airports that stay stagnate over time.

I am hoping Sami's infrastructure expansion* (https://www.airwaysim.com/forum/index.php/topic,81310.msg480920.html#msg480920) sort of address that. I know that plans in the feature call for player investments to improve airports and such, but that is designed to go hand in hand with Airport data 2.0. Which isn't going to be here anytime soon.

If we could have the player investment side of that idea much sooner, I feel that would be a good compromise between now and then. Even limited to just being allowed to move an airport from 1-3 is fine. No need for a full release update, just an option to fly a bigger plane would be enough for now.


That said, Sami, is that possible now with the new system (as in its just disabled for the time being) or do you still need to re-build (code) the Investment side of airport infrastructure side of things. Realistically, how close are we to that point, if so?


Talentz

Edit: Pretty sure were talking about GW2, Sami.
Co-founder and Managing member of: The Star Alliance Group™ - A beta era, multi-brand alliance.

Offline Zombie Slayer

  • Members
  • Posts: 4721
Re: So about all these Class 1 Airports....
« Reply #3 on: May 31, 2019, 06:44:59 PM »
Yes, GW2 is the one in question here. Thanks Sami!
Co-founder Elite Worldwide Alliance
PacAir President and CEO
Designated "Tier 1" Opponent

 

WARNING! This website is not compatible with the old version of Internet Explorer you are using.

If you are using the latest version please turn OFF the compatibility mode.