AirwaySim
Online Airline Management Simulation
Login
Username
Password
 
or login using:
 
My Account
Username:
E-mail:
Edit account
» Achievements
» Logout
Game Credits
Credit balance: 0 Cr
Buy credits
» Credit history
» Credits FAQ

Author Topic: Changelog and Previews comment thread  (Read 45953 times)

Offline Talentz

  • Members
  • Posts: 1122
Re: Changelog and Previews comment thread
« Reply #360 on: April 09, 2019, 03:05:54 AM »
It seems that if the primary driver for the airport expanding is lack of slots, and if the expansion does not (yet) deliver any slots, it seems that in more advanced game worlds, some airports will get back to back expansions.

Back to back expansions only after the minimum amount of time between expansions has passed and not otherwise limited by era allowances. What are you hinting at?



Talentz
Co-founder and Managing member of: The Star Alliance Group™ - A beta era, multi-brand alliance.

Online JumboShrimp

  • Members
  • Posts: 8039

The 2 people who like this post:
Re: Changelog and Previews comment thread
« Reply #361 on: April 09, 2019, 03:13:13 AM »
Back to back expansions only after the minimum amount of time between expansions has passed and not otherwise limited by era allowances. What are you hinting at?

Talentz

The way I see it working is that by using up slots, pressure to expand airport will build up, and most the slots being used up creates the maximum pressure to expand.

Then, the expansion that also grants slots is like a pressure valve and releases the build up pressure, so that there is no pressure to expand until the slots are used up again.

But by not granting slots, there is no pressure valve, and there is equal pressure to expand before and right after the expansion.

Offline Tha_Ape

  • Members
  • Posts: 5597

The 2 people who like this post:
Re: Changelog and Previews comment thread
« Reply #362 on: May 14, 2019, 07:27:15 AM »
As winds are now quite a bit more realistic, will there be any change in the itinerary calculation?

Will the pilots be able to go 30nm up north and take a longer route to avoid strong headwinds and in the end gain some time? Will the system check for the shorter route time-wise and not distance-wise?

SIN-EWR being in this case a good example: https://www.quora.com/For-a-flight-going-from-the-United-States-to-China-or-Japan-why-would-an-airline-choose-the-long-route-over-Europe-and-the-Middle-East-instead-of-going-over-the-Pacific-Ocean
« Last Edit: May 14, 2019, 09:42:00 AM by Tha_Ape »

Offline NovemberCharlie

  • Members
  • Posts: 967

The 2 people who like this post:
Re: Changelog and Previews comment thread
« Reply #363 on: May 14, 2019, 09:18:28 AM »
Yeah I think it is all really nice and interesting that this update had been implemented, but it should be done hand in hand with a better flight planning module....

Offline Verto

  • Members
  • Posts: 214
Re: Changelog and Previews comment thread
« Reply #364 on: May 14, 2019, 03:12:40 PM »
How does the new wind model differ from the one in GW2 currently?

Online Sami

  • Administrator
  • Members
  • Posts: 16931
    • AirwaySim - Are you the next Richard Branson?

The 3 people who like this post:
Re: Changelog and Previews comment thread
« Reply #365 on: May 14, 2019, 03:50:27 PM »
How does the new wind model differ from the one in GW2 currently?

More accurate compared to real life.

Previous wind model had only 6 data points in entire world, this one has 10000? (or something in that amount anyway)

Online Mort

  • Members
  • Posts: 562

The person who likes this post:
Re: Changelog and Previews comment thread
« Reply #366 on: May 15, 2019, 12:30:54 PM »
@Sami, reference this post in the changelog.

Quote
The early B747 is quite a mess like many of the other aircraft of that era, with dozens of variants and different choices. And the data for the operational weights and other info varies and depends on which source you look, and updating this data is hence rather time consuming. The -200 combis will be added during the next month, and the -300 series will also receive a data update at some point. Note that the performance data of the 747 series is still v.1 and not fully accurate (we don't have the manuals so far).

Will the -200 combis (C/M) make it into the game in time for the GW1 relaunch? Likewise with any other additions? 300M, 400M etc?

Offline deovrat

  • Members
  • Posts: 492

The person who likes this post:
Re: Changelog and Previews comment thread
« Reply #367 on: May 22, 2019, 05:13:30 AM »
Quote
The data on performance is based now on actual aircraft manuals and similar data. As a result the fuel burn values are more accurate and in B707s case quite much lower than before. Do note also that there is quite a big fuel burn difference between the turbojet and turbofan (B designator) powered aircraft, latter being more efficient.

DC-8 will also receive a similar update before new GW#1 in order for these two rivals to be on the same accuracy for the new game.

Can we get a rough idea about the new fuel burn values for these fleet types? Or at least the % deviation?

Those of us who plan their prop schedules while keeping one eye on jets, will appreciate any insight immensely when it comes to fleet planning.

Online Sami

  • Administrator
  • Members
  • Posts: 16931
    • AirwaySim - Are you the next Richard Branson?

The 2 people who like this post:
Re: Changelog and Previews comment thread
« Reply #368 on: May 22, 2019, 07:36:05 AM »
Fuel figures can be seen from game interface. So you can call Boeing and ask about the new jet when they plan to start building it  ;)  (where's the suspense otherwise  ;D)

Offline Zobelle

  • Members
  • Posts: 1770
Re: Changelog and Previews comment thread
« Reply #369 on: May 23, 2019, 09:10:41 AM »
Fuel figures can be seen from game interface. So you can call Boeing and ask about the new jet when they plan to start building it  ;)  (where's the suspense otherwise  ;D)

My estimate is reduction from 11-14 tons per hour down to quoted (by operators) real world figures of 7-9 tons per hour depending on turbojet vs fanjet.

Offline deovrat

  • Members
  • Posts: 492
Re: Changelog and Previews comment thread
« Reply #370 on: May 23, 2019, 10:57:35 AM »
My estimate is reduction from 11-14 tons per hour down to quoted (by operators) real world figures of 7-9 tons per hour depending on turbojet vs fanjet.

That would be quite a boost if those values comes to fruition.

Offline deovrat

  • Members
  • Posts: 492

The person who likes this post:
Re: Changelog and Previews comment thread
« Reply #371 on: May 23, 2019, 11:04:17 AM »
Quote
New performance tool

(Very early preview picture below)

In order to make the highly realistic aircraft performance model more understandable and in order to help fleet and route planning, a new Performance Tool is in the making.

Thank you for this, a welcome change indeed. I assume that it would allow a player input any of the a/c available at that point in time, not just the ones currently in their fleet.

Online Sami

  • Administrator
  • Members
  • Posts: 16931
    • AirwaySim - Are you the next Richard Branson?
Re: Changelog and Previews comment thread
« Reply #372 on: May 23, 2019, 11:09:39 AM »
I assume that it would allow a player input any of the a/c available at that point in time, not just the ones currently in their fleet.

Correct. What you see at Aircraft Info page (https://www.airwaysim.com/game/Aircraft/Info) can be used in perf.tool.

Offline MikeS

  • Members
  • Posts: 840

The 3 people who like this post:
Re: Changelog and Previews comment thread
« Reply #373 on: May 23, 2019, 12:40:38 PM »
would the tool allow us to check a route between any two airports worldwide, not just from our bases? That would be cool!

Mike

Offline JJP

  • Members
  • Posts: 796
Re: Changelog and Previews comment thread
« Reply #374 on: May 27, 2019, 08:21:56 PM »
In regard to the new Performance Tool, it would be nice to have an estimate of weekly costs / profit on the route -the same information you see when your aircraft has started flying the route (weekly profit I think it's called).  Obviously, this would be an estimate and would assume you have purchased the aircraft outright (the player can figure in his/her weekly leasing costs if applicable).  This would be very nice to understand the effect different types of planes have on a route.

Offline MikeS

  • Members
  • Posts: 840
Re: Changelog and Previews comment thread
« Reply #375 on: June 01, 2019, 07:28:31 PM »
When Infrastructure level rises at an airport, will it change flight times (longer taxi times)? That would be a major headache ...

Mike

Online Sami

  • Administrator
  • Members
  • Posts: 16931
    • AirwaySim - Are you the next Richard Branson?

The 4 people who like this post:
Re: Changelog and Previews comment thread
« Reply #376 on: June 01, 2019, 07:30:46 PM »
No, the taxi times are based on old 1-5 classes.

Not great but that's the only reasonable way to do it really.. (or then just standardize taxi times at all airports)

Online Andre090904

  • Members
  • Posts: 1885
Re: Changelog and Previews comment thread
« Reply #377 on: June 09, 2019, 03:18:14 PM »
Quote
Airport at infra level 10 has 100 slots/hr while airport at level 1 has 10 slots/hr, and growth between these levels is linear. In other words airport at level 5 has 50 slots/hr. These can be changed by a global modifier in game's settings (i.e game has slots setting at "+50%" globally, and then level 5 airports have 75 slots/hr).

OK, how will this work at big airports? For example, ORD in GW2 has currently 173 hourly slots and it still is slot-restricted in the morning hours. Is it just a matter of "deal with it" or will slots still increase over time?

Quote
Whenever an airport expands and it was slot-constrained before the expansion, a slot quota mechanism is activated for the airport. The actual quota depends on many things but is usually at least 50 new slots for each 5 passed game days. In other words you can schedule 7 new flights flown 7 times a week, and repeat this every 5 game days - so shouldn't be a truly limiting factor for anyone. The quota is valid for a maximum for 120 days after the expansion (2.5 real days with 30min/day game speed), which after the limit is lifted and slots are free to be bought in larger quantities too.

7 new flights. That means 2 regional planes or 1 7-day-schedule (with 7 flights of course). That's really not much and will be limiting a lot. I would have assumed the limit to be somewhere around 200 slots or so instead of just 50. I agree there needs to be a limit for fair play reasons...but not that low.

Offline Verto

  • Members
  • Posts: 214
Re: Changelog and Previews comment thread
« Reply #378 on: June 09, 2019, 04:24:45 PM »
OK, how will this work at big airports? For example, ORD in GW2 has currently 173 hourly slots and it still is slot-restricted in the morning hours. Is it just a matter of "deal with it" or will slots still increase over time?


Yes, how will this play out? Many US airports look like they would be constantly slot locked under this new model.

Online Sami

  • Administrator
  • Members
  • Posts: 16931
    • AirwaySim - Are you the next Richard Branson?
Re: Changelog and Previews comment thread
« Reply #379 on: June 09, 2019, 04:31:30 PM »
Quote
ORD in GW2 has currently 173 hourly slots and it still is slot-restricted in the morning hours. Is it just a matter of "deal with it" or will slots still increase over time?

You should not expect a total slot availability at all hours during the day. Especially if the airport is one of the popular ones. (in several current game worlds the slot numbers are artificially high, but it's a fine balance of being too limiting or too generous)

Quote
7 new flights.

Repeatable every 5 game days. If the airport grows for example +10 slots per hour there might not be that much to share. And the system will not be biased towards whoever sets their alarm on and gets there first.

(the quota system will be tuned once there are some more experiences of it)

 

WARNING! This website is not compatible with the old version of Internet Explorer you are using.

If you are using the latest version please turn OFF the compatibility mode.