AirwaySim
Online Airline Management Simulation
Login
Username
Password
 
or login using:
 
My Account
Username:
E-mail:
Edit account
» Achievements
» Logout
Game Credits
Credit balance: 0 Cr
Buy credits
» Credit history
» Credits FAQ

Author Topic: Allow A-B-C-B-A routing  (Read 807 times)

Offline NovemberCharlie

  • Members
  • Posts: 983

The person who likes this post:
Allow A-B-C-B-A routing
« on: May 25, 2019, 11:13:39 AM »
Hi all,

Understandably A-B-C-B-A routing has been banned a while back. It would allow a out of base "hub" without all of the associated penalties and ruin the game for players in medium bases.

However it makes no sense if A and C are base airports. For example, I fly from BOG and CLO (amongst others) in GW4 and would like to serve MAD from both airports. Unfortunately CLO has insufficient demand for such a route.

In the spirit of the game, my airline would certainly be allowed to fly this sector. However economics make this difficult to justify.

I think this would open a lot of options for players with smaller bases. Base set up costs are still a thing and this would be mostly interesting for airlines flying from somewhat limited countries... (E.g. Colombia)

Cheers,

NC

Offline ArcherII

  • Members
  • Posts: 2139
Re: Allow A-B-C-B-A routing
« Reply #1 on: May 25, 2019, 02:22:01 PM »
That, and also to help maximizing fleet utilization.

A (HQ) - B - C (Base) - B - A (HQ).

Sometimes there's a new route popping up in a new airport, and you have to commit a sole aircraft for that only route, when you could put it in some legs out of another base and do that route as well.

Offline badboy

  • Members
  • Posts: 52
Re: Allow A-B-C-B-A routing
« Reply #2 on: June 18, 2019, 05:58:16 AM »
Prima facie - I broadly agree with the premise of removing the A-B-C-B-A.

However, a routing like A-B-C-B-A (and/or A-C-B-C-A)  should be possible IF and only if both A and C are bases. Will significantly help with utilization and getting the right timing for my flights.

Option 1: A-B and B-C have different flight nos and counted as separate flights for revenue and traffic.  Real life case: Schedule A321 DEL-SHJ-BLR-SHJ-DEL. The 2 segments are differently accounted.From a programming standpoint, this looks easy to do.

Option 2: More realistic: Allow A-B-C-B-A and also allow capacity allocation for each of the sectors.

Real life situation from my former employer - Schedule AB3 on a route like BOM-DEL-TRV & vv and allow allocation of inventory for each of the 3 sectors:
Total 273 seats
DEL-BOM=230
BOM-TRV=230
DEL-TRV=140

Ofcourse in AWS, both DEL and BOM should be hubs for this to be allowed.

Offline [SC] - King Kong

  • Members
  • Posts: 748
Re: Allow A-B-C-B-A routing
« Reply #3 on: June 18, 2019, 06:06:34 AM »
A-C-A-B routing also allowed?

Offline badboy

  • Members
  • Posts: 52

The person who likes this post:
Re: Allow A-B-C-B-A routing
« Reply #4 on: June 18, 2019, 06:40:51 AM »
A-C-A-B routing also allowed?

As long as aircraft gets back to base A, and atleast 2 points are hubs it should be fine.

I am guessing A-C-B-A routings would be harder to code but A-C-B-C-A should be straightforward.

Offline DanDan

  • Members
  • Posts: 2807
Re: Allow A-B-C-B-A routing
« Reply #5 on: June 18, 2019, 07:25:08 AM »
well, it would also be nice if one could do it with:

a base in A
and flights from A-B and back
and fights from A-C and back
combined into A-B-C-B-A.

so lower-demanded routes could be covered (thats what most airlines did for a very long time)

Offline [SC] - King Kong

  • Members
  • Posts: 748

The person who likes this post:
Re: Allow A-B-C-B-A routing
« Reply #6 on: June 18, 2019, 12:45:32 PM »
Only allow this for smaller airlines less flexible countries and such would be smart.

Offline gazzz0x2z

  • Members
  • Posts: 4464
Re: Allow A-B-C-B-A routing
« Reply #7 on: June 18, 2019, 07:49:28 PM »
Only allow this for smaller airlines less flexible countries and such would be smart.

I like your way of thinking. It would make small countries more interesting - I could probably have more fun from SGN.

Offline dl1991

  • Members
  • Posts: 8
Re: Allow A-B-C-B-A routing
« Reply #8 on: April 10, 2020, 10:38:02 AM »
I would also like a multi-hop scheduling feature for example; AKL-LAX-LHR and back. I believe lots of airlines use this method particularly in the USA.

Also it would be good to be able to base aircraft at outstations overnight and fly them into your base first thing in the morning similar to what a lot of European airlines do. For example if my base was LHR I could fly an A/C out on the last rotation of the evening - overnight at an outstation and have that A/C fly the first flight back in the morning.

I am only on the beginner setting is this possible in the advanced?

Feel free to PM any advice.
« Last Edit: April 10, 2020, 10:40:56 AM by dl1991 »

Online JumboShrimp

  • Members
  • Posts: 8167
Re: Allow A-B-C-B-A routing
« Reply #9 on: April 10, 2020, 10:51:09 AM »
I would also like a multi-hop scheduling feature for example; AKL-LAX-LHR and back. I believe lots of airlines use this method particularly in the USA.

Also it would be good to be able to base aircraft at outstations overnight and fly them into your base first thing in the morning similar to what a lot of European airlines do. For example if my base was LHR I could fly an A/C out on the last rotation of the evening - overnight at an outstation and have that A/C fly the first flight back in the morning.

I am only on the beginner setting is this possible in the advanced?

Feel free to PM any advice.

This will not work, because there are no passenger connections, and passengers can't stay on the plane.

But when passenger connections are added to the system, then it could work, regardless of whether it is the same plane or a different plane.

Offline sanabas

  • Members
  • Posts: 551

The 4 people who like this post:
Re: Allow A-B-C-B-A routing
« Reply #10 on: April 10, 2020, 11:45:54 AM »
Also it would be good to be able to base aircraft at outstations overnight and fly them into your base first thing in the morning similar to what a lot of European airlines do. For example if my base was LHR I could fly an A/C out on the last rotation of the evening - overnight at an outstation and have that A/C fly the first flight back in the morning.

You can do this already. Just increase the turnaround time. e.g fly out of LHR at 2000, land at destination at 2330, and instead of your default 70 min turn time, set it to 330min/5:30, so you take off from destination at 0500, land at LHR at say 0800.

 

WARNING! This website is not compatible with the old version of Internet Explorer you are using.

If you are using the latest version please turn OFF the compatibility mode.