Edit account
» Achievements
» Logout
Game Credits
Credit balance: 0 Cr
Buy credits
» Credit history
» Credits FAQ

Author Topic: New proposed way to calculate office rent  (Read 288 times)

Offline wilian.souza2

• Members

The person who likes this post:
New proposed way to calculate office rent
« on: August 23, 2018, 07:55:44 PM »
The new formula

I started to work on an alternative way of calculating office rent because I think the way it is calculated today very odd - the values tend to change every week - and I'm not sure if it considers the economy level of the countries or the size of the airport appropriately. Initially, I thought the values deducted from my airline were too cheap in some countries and too expensive in others...

In real life I am an engineer specialized in real estate. The formulas we use to estimate sale and rental values are really complex and takes into account dozens of factors in order to take into account its location, its desirability and its feasibility for its intended use, for example. For AWS I created a simpler formula which takes into account the following factors:

- base level;
- number of office staff (excluding pilots, cabin crew and other airport related staff) at a base;
- the infrastructure and traffic level of the airport (higher traffic and infra equals higher costs);
- the country's salary level (to balance the values according to the country's economy strenght);
- company image (Higher CI means offices of higher standard so it grows at higher rates).

Basically, the office rent formula I propose is:

R = A*k, where R = office rent, A = office area and k = its value per square meter or square feet.

The office area is calculated by summing up all the company's staff excluding pilots, cabin crew, safety, ground handling and technical services personnel (which I call airport staff), and multiplying the result by 13,91 m² (150 square feet, same ratio used by 42floors.com to estimate the office area required for staff).