Edit account
» Achievements
» Logout
Game Credits
Credit balance: 0 Cr
Buy credits
» Credit history
» Credits FAQ

Author Topic: need mentor to survive  (Read 509 times)

Offline Piet von der Pompies

• Members
need mentor to survive
« on: August 24, 2022, 05:55:59 AM »
Hallo

this is my first try at Airwaysim and i made it into almost 1954  :D

but now i find strong competition and my airline not making any profit anymore
i would like to keep on and be able to fly the classics like the Jumbo and the A320

I did put out a request for Mentorship but no response yet. I desperately need someone to have a look over my business and tell me where i am going wrong. :,(

thanks in advance

Online RALLX

• Members
Re: need mentor to survive
« Reply #1 on: August 24, 2022, 07:04:23 AM »
Hello there. At one glance, one very glaring issue is that you are running too many fleet groups. This would cause your fleet commonality cost to skyrocket. As a general rule-of-thumb, do not operate more than 3 fleet groups.

Your competitor is not doing any better either, he has the exact same issue with you but he is slightly better. You need to make a decision for which 3 fleet groups you should retain. You do not need multiple fleet groups of similar size and range. For example, Bristol Wayfarer and Convair 240/440 are similar in size and range. Even Avro C102 would arguably be similar in size. Another example, Boeing 377, DC-6/6B, L-649 are similar in size, DC-4 and Lockheed Electra are similar in size and range.

• Members
« Reply #2 on: August 24, 2022, 05:42:11 PM »
thank you for the reply

i suppose a Heron , Convair and Boeing 377 would be the best fleet makeup
as Wayfairers are being phased out and not easy to obtain on used Market.
DC6 and DC4 are not always on the Market and long waiting list for new delivery
and the Avroliner Jet probably has too high operating costs

i suppose replacing the wayfairers one by one with Convairs would be the best start?

• Members