AirwaySim
Online Airline Management Simulation
Login
Username
Password
 
or login using:
 
My Account
Username:
E-mail:
Edit account
» Achievements
» Logout
Game Credits
Credit balance: 0 Cr
Buy credits
» Credit history
» Credits FAQ

Author Topic: [ok] Distance - pretty thick rounding error  (Read 407 times)

Offline Tha_Ape

  • Members
  • Posts: 5552
[ok] Distance - pretty thick rounding error
« on: September 20, 2019, 09:53:09 AM »
One from the route planning page, one from the open new route page.
Considering the short distance, 16nm is not slim.

This is from GW#4 (The Age of Flight)
« Last Edit: October 01, 2019, 03:43:21 PM by Sami »

Offline gazzz0x2z

  • Members
  • Posts: 3920
Re: Distance - pretty thick rounding error
« Reply #1 on: September 20, 2019, 10:00:30 AM »
let me guess : SIN has changed locations during the game?

Offline Tha_Ape

  • Members
  • Posts: 5552
Re: Distance - pretty thick rounding error
« Reply #2 on: September 20, 2019, 10:07:47 AM »
Yep. Same old same old...
And the rounding error gets proportionally thicker the shorter the distance is.

Offline Sami

  • Administrator
  • Members
  • Posts: 16786
    • AirwaySim - Are you the next Richard Branson?
Re: Distance - pretty thick rounding error
« Reply #3 on: September 25, 2019, 04:05:12 PM »
The route length is stored next to other route data and that route has been created before one or both SIN and KUL airports relocated (which made the route distance change). The distance data is not recalculated upon airport relocations due to performance.

Usually the difference seen is minimal, if any.

Offline Tha_Ape

  • Members
  • Posts: 5552
Re: Distance - pretty thick rounding error
« Reply #4 on: September 25, 2019, 04:38:29 PM »
The route length is stored next to other route data and that route has been created before one or both SIN and KUL airports relocated (which made the route distance change).

"Route has been created"? You mean, the system calculating the eventuality of this route? If so, I understand.
Because if no, this wasn't an "edit route" distance, but an "open new route" one. Vs "route planning". And thus it's a different matter.

Offline Sami

  • Administrator
  • Members
  • Posts: 16786
    • AirwaySim - Are you the next Richard Branson?

The person who likes this post:
Re: [-] Distance - pretty thick rounding error
« Reply #5 on: September 25, 2019, 04:44:30 PM »
Ach I see. It's a similar case there too but I'll see if I'll improve that at some point (time permitting)

 

WARNING! This website is not compatible with the old version of Internet Explorer you are using.

If you are using the latest version please turn OFF the compatibility mode.