Seating

Started by tavyturean, October 06, 2018, 10:39:16 AM

tavyturean

Hello guys. Thank you very much for the answers on all of my other questions. As a newbie, I still have some things I haven't quite grasped.
On that note, I have two questions about seating configuration.
1. When I create my airline should I start offering business class right away or should I start with all economy?
2. When buying/leasing an used aircraft with a seat configuration of my choice is that cost added to the plane price or is it free? What about for a new one?
Thanks

yearofthecactus

1) Business class needs quite good (>70) Company Image. So till then, I wouldn't go out of my way to put business seats on a leased plane, but if the used plane I am leasing already has those seats, then I wouldn't bother removing it at extra cost.

2) Yes. Any different seat config from the plane's current/default costs extra and is added to the leasing/buying price every time.

APTamas

I think, when you buy/lease a new airplane, the seating costs are included in the price so you won't have to pay for personalized seating.

wilian.souza2

Quote from: APTamas on October 06, 2018, 07:47:53 PM
I think, when you buy/lease a new airplane, the seating costs are included in the price so you won't have to pay for personalized seating.

Nope. If you request a different configuration for the airplane you're buying, you'll pay for configuration, too - the prices are even displayed in the seat config box.

gazzz0x2z

Quote from: wilian.souza2 on October 06, 2018, 10:41:49 PM
Nope. If you request a different configuration for the airplane you're buying, you'll pay for configuration, too - the prices are even displayed in the seat config box.

Said otherwise : when beginning, each $ counts, and you can't really afford re-seating. You keep what you are given. Later, though, seatings changes can be very profitable.

EsquireFlyer

Quote from: APTamas on October 06, 2018, 07:47:53 PM