Strategy for high demand routes

Started by tavyturean, September 18, 2018, 01:07:59 AM

tavyturean

Let's say there's a route on which the demand can fill five of your planes. And let's say it's the beginning of the GW, so you're confident no other company will come in and take all that away from you.
How does one set ticket prices knowing you're going to have another flight to the same destination soon? Or do you fly twice a day from the start?
As a noob i think there are a few tactics, of which I'm sure only one is good, but I don't know which one:
1. Fly once. Let the plane fill up and do not change the ticket price. Once it gets to 90% open a new flight with the same price and so on. Increase prices only when all planes are full and you don't want to add new flights to that destination.
2. Open two or three flights from the start at the same price and increase it as they start to fill.
3. Open one flight and increase the price once it gets to 90%. Keep raising until it stabilizes at 90%. Then open another flight at lower prices. And repeat.
What do you guys think us the best apriach gor this?

schro

You don't want to serve more than 20-30% of demand on a given route until RI has sufficiently risen. You'll want to start with 1 flight per day per route and increase the prices as RI will allow. Once you've run out of routes that you can load to 20-30% of demand, go back and start adding second flights.

knobbygb

But the route image rises more quickly when you have two flights vs. one. And the speed it rises depends a LOT on your CI. So it really depends what other routes are available that might make even more money. Remember that having multiple flights on the same route keeps staffing costs down which is really important early on.