is the 747-400D an option?

Started by Antoine, December 24, 2016, 05:42:11 PM

Antoine

Lets say you have a possible route

1500 NM
1100 pax demand
and NO competition

Does it make more sense to slowly add more Narrow body planes on this route ? ( and possibly letting a competitor open a route too and take some PAX)

OR

Lease a 747-400D ( and more of course for other routes ) and stick it on the above mentioned route to grab half the PAX ?

I feel the important factor here is NO competition

Let me know what you guys think !

(ps Happy Christmas)

wapp11

If you use a 747D thats probably the only route you will be able to fit on it, unless you fins something to fly at night.  I have very little experience with a 747D, actually just tried one in a BW.  Go with the ultimate narrow body and grab a few 757-300s, and then you can fly them on other routes too.  Good fit for a A300, or 767 also.  From what I have seen, 747s don't work well in the normal worlds, they may in the BWs, though.

Talentz

Hello.

Is it an option? Yes, of course. The real question should be, is the 744 family a good fit for your airline in relation to your alvb route demand. Getting into a 744D just for a few select routes is not wise in aircraft planning terms. Alot of new players get hung up on selecting a specific aircraft for a specific route or sets of routes.

The key in setting good fleet commonality and aircraft routing operations in general, is selecting the best aircraft groups that fit the majority of your route demands. 

So the end answer to your question is yet a deeper question: Can I use the 744 family in strong numbers on other routes?

This is how your thinking should trend when selecting a new aircraft or airport for new routes. 

Talentz
Co-founder and Managing member of: The Star Alliance Group™ - A beta era, multi-brand alliance.

Antoine