Edit account
» Achievements
» Logout
Game Credits
Credit balance: 0 Cr
Buy credits
» Credit history
» Credits FAQ

Author Topic: Questions Regarding Demand (Seasonality, Time of Day, Effect of Demand Type)  (Read 710 times)

Wes

• Former member
Hello all. I am relatively new to AirwaySim and have a few questions regarding demand. I know my post seems long-winded and appreciate those who take the time to read and respond.  :)

• First, do the demand calculations take into account the effect of hub and spoke operations (connecting traffic)? For instance, demand to KPIT (spoke A) from KPHL (hub) is approximately 400 seats and demand from KMSY (spoke B) to KPIT (spoke A) is 50 seats. If no flights were scheduled from spoke to spoke, in the real world at least a portion of the 50 seats of demand from the spoke to spoke route would be willing to connect somewhere to get to their destination. In the example provided, the demand would be between 400-450 seats.
  • Is seasonality of demand considered? (e.g., ski destinations experience more demand in winter)
  • Is a global factor applied to daily demand (i.e., Saturday demand in all markets is calculated as 70% of average demand), or is it dependent on the destination? (i.e., Market A has 60% business travel, therefore Saturday demand is 40% of average; Market B has 10% business travel, therefore Saturday demand is 80% of average). I would expect that destinations with a greater share of business travel to have more demand on weekdays, particularly Monday and Thursday, while a leisure destination would likely experience greater demand on Fridays and weekends than would a primarily business travel destination.
  • If demand does account for percentage of business travel, does this impact price elasticity?
  • Is the time of day considered in demand algorithms?