Edit account
» Achievements
» Logout
Game Credits
Credit balance: 0 Cr
Buy credits
» Credit history
» Credits FAQ

Author Topic: beginner question on route demand  (Read 949 times)

Sranan

• Former member
beginner question on route demand
« on: November 02, 2011, 04:19:54 PM »
i am new to the sim.

i was curious how the passenger demand is calculated between airports. i was researching a base airport and find it very odd that the passenger demand isnot really accurate or realistic between a few airports.

an example: daily demand between holland and suriname or holland and the dutch antilles (aruba, bonaire, curacao, st maarten) is around 20 pax a day each way. in reality, the flights are usually around 200 pax a day each way.

it seems that international destinations that have cultural ties (example french speaking nations) would have higher passenger demand between airports, like in the real world.

is this something that i am looking to deeply into?

Offline Sanabas

• Members
Re: beginner question on route demand
« Reply #1 on: November 03, 2011, 01:31:57 AM »
It's basically an algorithm based on airport size, airport demand type (i.e. % that is LH/SH/domestic), and distance. There also seems to be a bit of a random factor involved. There are some routes that are hard-coded exceptions, but there are many more that are not.

Amsterdam-St Maarten should be a lot higher than 20 daily pax, but it will also be less than Amsterdam to non-dutch colonies like Martinique, Trinidad, Guadeloupe. Because St Maarten is ~1/4 LH, 3/4 short haul demand, whereas Le Lamentin is ~90% LH.

Sranan

• Former member
« Reply #2 on: November 03, 2011, 07:08:55 PM »
thanks Sanabas

it would be nice if the real life feature was included as a random factor. in reality, those long haul flights between those types of destinations are a large percentage of airline revenue.