Seat configuration cost

Started by GDK, June 03, 2010, 09:30:45 AM

GDK

I'm still new in seat configuration and I don't understand 1 thing. I got A310-200 with default seating of 189 standard economy seats. I plan to configure it to 14 standard business seats and 171 standard economy seats. The price for business seat is $6800 each and the economy seat is $3100 each. When I assign it to my aircraft, $625,300 was charged for every aircraft. That it the price of 14*6800+171*3100, which means I bought a complete set of new seats including the standard economy seats. Where goes my original 189 standard economy seats?? Why are they disappeared mysteriously? If those 189 seats were replaced, then I should get some cash selling them. If they are not sold and still in my store, why can't I use them in the new configuration??

Curse

At the moment you have to buy all seats new, but I can remember some threads in the feature forum about this.

For the moment sometimes it is more useful to not reconfigurate an aircraft, for example if you only get them for one or two years from the used market.  :-\

GDK

Alright. Thanks for your advise. :D

SACEO

One good thing about having to replace all seats when you reconfigure is that it really boosts the overall condition of used a/c's.  For instance, if you pick up an a/c on the used market with a condition of, say, 83% and then reconfigure the seating the overall condition will have improved by about 10% by the time you take delivery of it. 

GDK

Seat reconfiguration is considered as an extra 'maintenance' and that's the reason the condition of the aircraft improved... But 10% is just....... Seems the effect of defective seat is more serious than a malfunction hydraulic pump :-\

powi

If you buy a new aircarft then the you only pay for those seats you put in. At least I rember it beign like that, I haven't tested it.

swiftus27

Remember, its not just seats.  You are also re running all wiring, re-branding the interior... etc....