AirwaySim
Online Airline Management Simulation
Login
Username
Password
 
or login using:
 
My Account
Username:
E-mail:
Edit account
» Achievements
» Logout
Game Credits
Credit balance: 0 Cr
Buy credits
» Credit history
» Credits FAQ

Author Topic: [-] Site issues?  (Read 700 times)

Offline RuneF

  • Members
  • Posts: 238
[-] Site issues?
« on: May 21, 2016, 02:37:39 PM »
A lot of timeouts and problems with the site today, networkproblems or some gone south?
« Last Edit: May 22, 2016, 12:08:16 PM by Sami »

Offline Cardinal

  • Members
  • Posts: 967
Re: Site issues?
« Reply #1 on: May 21, 2016, 04:03:41 PM »
For several days I've been getting occasional "connection reset" errors.

Also, doing things that don't require a page reload, like all scheduling tasks or rebasing aircraft get stuck on the spinning "Loading" icon without ever performing the action I requested. About 1/3 of everything I do take two tries to go through. Anything else that does reload the page, like menus or viewing slots or anything else, works fine except for the occasional connection reset error. And I get these errors at home on a hard-wired connection and traveling using either the wifi at work or public wifi or 4G.

Offline RuneF

  • Members
  • Posts: 238
Re: Site issues?
« Reply #2 on: May 21, 2016, 07:10:34 PM »
Hope sami will look into it..pretty useless as it is now.

Offline Sami

  • Administrator
  • Members
  • Posts: 14536
    • AirwaySim - Are you the next Richard Branson?
Re: Site issues?
« Reply #3 on: May 21, 2016, 07:34:10 PM »
No reports at all in our site monitoring system, run by third party and it monitors the uptime and response times from 3-5 locations around the world.

The response times there have been fully normal and no outages.

Usually any slowness between two locations is caused by some routing point in between and that is fully out of our (or your) control, and will resolve by itself in a matter of hours or days. If the problems continue your ISP is the only ones who could potentially affect the way the traffic is routed from you to us.

(Edit; and you can also do a "tracert airwaysim.com" from shell to see where it hangs..this should give a bit more info where the issue is)
« Last Edit: May 21, 2016, 07:43:53 PM by Sami »

Offline [ATA] frimp

  • Members
  • Posts: 1376
Re: Site issues?
« Reply #4 on: May 21, 2016, 09:09:29 PM »
Hi Sami,

all works fine for me but several of the alliance members are having issues for most of today so I checked the forum.
this doesnt seem to be like an isolated incidence.

www.airwaysim.com took too long to respond.
ERR_CONNECTION_TIMED_OUT  is message received for most of today.

my alliance member has same ISP as me so I don't think they are the issue.

Offline Mysil

  • Members
  • Posts: 242
Re: Site issues?
« Reply #5 on: May 21, 2016, 09:11:28 PM »
I get the same message. The site is very unstable.

Offline Crew95

  • Members
  • Posts: 67
Re: Site issues?
« Reply #6 on: May 21, 2016, 09:24:26 PM »
Hey. Stopped working for me and others today. Wifi is fine on all other sites but not this one. 4G working from my iPhone but not from 4g on android or on iPad or on iMac with any kind of connection. Quite unplayable on my phone though. Any news on when this will be resolved?

Offline Sami

  • Administrator
  • Members
  • Posts: 14536
    • AirwaySim - Are you the next Richard Branson?
Re: Site issues?
« Reply #7 on: May 21, 2016, 09:31:01 PM »
Again, nothing that we can do at our end. Server is up, responding normally, and no reports of any downtime from several locations .. just also tested many online services (besides of our own monitoring system at Pingdom) and all report the site to be reachable:

http://www.downforeveryoneorjustme.com/http://www.airwaysim.com/
http://www.isitdownrightnow.com/airwaysim.com.html
http://www.websitedown.info/airwaysim.com
http://viewdns.info/ismysitedown/?domain=www.airwaysim.com
http://dnscheck.pingdom.com/?domain=airwaysim.com&timestamp=1463866433&view=1

Seems to be a bit bigger issue in some global connection if several of you are having issues. ...(still, I'm interested of the traceroute info to see where the problem actually is)
« Last Edit: May 21, 2016, 09:34:49 PM by Sami »

Offline Crew95

  • Members
  • Posts: 67
Re: Site issues?
« Reply #8 on: May 21, 2016, 09:37:16 PM »
Webstatsdomain.org actually states that this website is currently down

Offline Crew95

  • Members
  • Posts: 67
Re: Site issues?
« Reply #9 on: May 21, 2016, 09:38:52 PM »
I'm not great with connections etc. Could you tell me how to get the trace route info and I'll try. Thanks

Offline Crew95

  • Members
  • Posts: 67
Re: Site issues?
« Reply #10 on: May 21, 2016, 10:30:53 PM »
If this helps and is anything to do with you, aviadesign.fi also doesn't work from said places.

Thanks.

Offline Sami

  • Administrator
  • Members
  • Posts: 14536
    • AirwaySim - Are you the next Richard Branson?
Re: Site issues?
« Reply #11 on: May 21, 2016, 10:35:06 PM »
If this helps and is anything to do with you, aviadesign.fi also doesn't work from said places.

Not the same server computer, but it's the same physical location and server room.


(and traceroute is done simply from your local computer's shell window by typing "tracert xxx" where xxx is the domain)

Offline Crew95

  • Members
  • Posts: 67
Re: Site issues?
« Reply #12 on: May 21, 2016, 11:30:11 PM »
Cannot get on nebula internet services either or aviation.fi. Aviation.fi says it's under construction. I did it and I have a picture of the tracert but I can't make it to the correct size to post it here.

Offline Cardinal

  • Members
  • Posts: 967
Re: Site issues?
« Reply #13 on: May 22, 2016, 01:27:52 AM »
So after my router, it's 4 hops to Richmond (about 80 miles away) and the next hop is Helsinki, which is where the slowdown begins although the pings don't seem to be out of the norm for crossing the Atlantic. But as I mentioned it is intermittent.

I also did a ping -t for about 60 seconds. No lost packets. The results of both are attached.
Sami, if you see a bunch of pings from cox.com (my ISP) for about a minute around 00:46 UTC, that was me.
And yes, my router is named after a Farscape Leviathan. Nerd alert!

I've been using the Internet since before WWW was a thing (anyone else remember Usenet? IRC? Finger?) so I get how it works and how many third parties are involved with the ones and zeros getting from point A to point B. I also know from experience that while the admins are dealing with a minor meltdown, Solarwinds happily reports that the island is not sinking. So monitoring tools are best for spotting massive wildfires and unplugged network cables, not general network weirdness that may or may not point to a looming meltdown. You need an infomercial psychic for that  ;)

But knowing all this doesn't make it any better when I'm trying to buy a used MD-11 and the connection gets reset in the middle of it  >:(

Offline SuperTazz

  • Members
  • Posts: 3
Re: Site issues?
« Reply #14 on: May 22, 2016, 01:40:22 AM »
Took ages to even get to this page in the forum and reply to the thread!  :P very sneaky way to stop from reporting it ;)

Had the same issues, server time outs, loading thing spinning forever etc. for the last 12 hours approx. Did seem to be intermittent though, sometimes could just reload the page and it would fly, this got less and less likely to work as though :/

In Australia so not expecting the greatest of speeds. After hop 17 it continued as unable to connect til 64 hops and then the tracer stopped.

Sorry not too knowledgable on these things or how it works, hope it helps though, happy to run anything else

Offline ArtHUUrr

  • Members
  • Posts: 3
Re: Site issues?
« Reply #15 on: May 22, 2016, 02:48:59 AM »
Traceroute foi iniciado...

traceroute to airwaysim.com (217.30.182.14), 64 hops max, 72 byte packets
 1  192.168.0.1 (192.168.0.1)  1.711 ms  0.674 ms  0.690 ms
 2  192.168.1.1 (192.168.1.1)  1.288 ms  1.166 ms  1.428 ms
 3  200-217-90-80.host.telemar.net.br (200.217.90.80)  130.380 ms  19.442 ms  17.943 ms
 4  100.122.99.67 (100.122.99.67)  125.534 ms  20.317 ms  119.908 ms
 5  200.199.54.62 (200.199.54.62)  283.698 ms  176.596 ms  270.239 ms
 6  * * *
 7  100.122.17.145 (100.122.17.145)  156.489 ms
    100.122.17.147 (100.122.17.147)  184.047 ms
    100.122.17.155 (100.122.17.155)  156.828 ms
 8  te0-4-0-9.ccr21.jfk10.atlas.cogentco.com (38.122.229.89)  167.253 ms  172.754 ms  165.907 ms
 9  be2056.ccr41.jfk02.atlas.cogentco.com (154.54.44.217)  179.041 ms  171.538 ms  176.883 ms
10  be2317.ccr41.lon13.atlas.cogentco.com (154.54.30.186)  231.257 ms  237.316 ms  278.633 ms
11  be12194.ccr41.ams03.atlas.cogentco.com (154.54.56.94)  308.171 ms  239.253 ms  231.834 ms
12  be2815.ccr41.ham01.atlas.cogentco.com (154.54.38.206)  256.331 ms  239.380 ms  374.946 ms
13  be2281.ccr21.sto03.atlas.cogentco.com (154.54.63.2)  245.438 ms  368.797 ms  307.170 ms
14  be2289.rcr21.hel01.atlas.cogentco.com (154.54.62.250)  308.378 ms  374.478 ms  307.068 ms
15  be2406.rcr21.hel03.atlas.cogentco.com (130.117.0.134)  306.939 ms  257.268 ms  297.738 ms
16  * * *
17  crtr1-v1311.lau.hel.fi.nblnet.com (83.150.93.49)  432.738 ms  421.177 ms  314.793 ms
18  * * *
19  * * *
20  * * *
21  * * *
22  * * *
23  * * *
24  * * *
25  * * *
26  * * *
27  * * *
28  * * *
29  * * *
30  * * *
31  www.airwaysim.com (217.30.182.14)  376.725 ms  326.865 ms *

Offline gazzz0x2z

  • Members
  • Posts: 1383
Re: Site issues?
« Reply #16 on: May 22, 2016, 06:20:20 AM »
Seems intercontinental. Here in Montpellier, France, no trouble at all.

Offline we74

  • Members
  • Posts: 17
Re: Site issues?
« Reply #17 on: May 22, 2016, 07:13:45 AM »
I have the same problem at my home adress, using Imac. ( IOS ). At my work 5 min away no problem, using Windows.
All other sites works fine on my Imac.

Best regards,

Anders.

Offline mean123

  • Members
  • Posts: 59
Re: Site issues?
« Reply #18 on: May 22, 2016, 08:46:50 AM »
An update to everyone that airwaysim is back online for me now. It was impossible from everywhere but it's completely returned and running normal from all devices with all possible connections now.

Offline Dasha

  • Members
  • Posts: 1001
Re: Site issues?
« Reply #19 on: May 22, 2016, 10:35:53 AM »
Same here... Works again now.
The people who cast the votes decide nothing. The people who count the votes, decide everything

 

WARNING! This website is not compatible with the old version of Internet Explorer you are using.

If you are using the latest version please turn OFF the compatibility mode.