Edit account
» Achievements
» Logout
Game Credits
Credit balance: 0 Cr
Buy credits
» Credit history
» Credits FAQ

Author Topic: Saab 340 specs are wrong  (Read 558 times)

Offline Lambert_M

• Members
Saab 340 specs are wrong
« on: April 08, 2016, 08:34:44 AM »
Hi folks,

I am a Saab 340 pilot in real life. I know this is a game and is not necessarily meant to mirror the truth, but the tech specs for the Saab 340 in this game is nowhere near the real figures. Fuel consumption is less in real life and the range is way more than what is listed in the game.

Would game admins consider tweaking figures based on real life numbers, or are we stuck with what we have? I am sure there are pilots type rated on other planes who would also perhaps have something to add about other types if we open up for the discussion.

Offline [SC] - King Kong

• Members

The person who likes this post:
Re: Saab 340 specs are wrong
« Reply #1 on: April 08, 2016, 10:14:48 AM »
It would be nice if you have some official proof that can be used to provide proper information.

Offline Sami

• Administrator
  • Members
    • AirwaySim - Are you the next Richard Branson?
« Reply #2 on: April 08, 2016, 05:41:07 PM »
All the Saab specs are directly from the manufacturer's material. (Source data file for ranges, weights etc says "Copyright 2004 Saab Aircraft Leasing" .. So I would consider that to be 100% correct)

Just compared the 340B payload-range chart of that source vs. AirwaySim and they are pretty much identical.
http://www.airwaysim.com/game/Aircraft/Payload/112/88/164/
http://www.saabaircraftleasing.com/prod/datasheets/340b_jar.pdf

Fuel flow values are also from a very reliable source. But you have to keep in mind that AWS calculates the fuel usage in much more complex way than just "kg/hr *flighthours". It's separated into several climb and descent segments and cruise segment. (fuel flow at cruise level is marked to be around 475kg/hr)
« Last Edit: April 08, 2016, 05:44:36 PM by sami »