Buy credits
» Credit history
» Credits FAQ

Author Topic: L649A  (Read 2090 times)

Online JumboShrimp

• Members
Re: L649A
« Reply #20 on: February 04, 2016, 07:48:09 AM »
This is my first time in the full game after some time in Beginners World.

After assembling a small fleet of used props, I was looking to move to new jets and got 5 DC8's without issue and was looking to get a few more before developing a fleet of 727s. 

As I work I cannot be on the game continuously waiting for aircraft to become available.  So I was surprised to see the 727 go from not launched to an 8 year delivery time over 1 realtime day.  Even the DC8 has a 5 year delivery time and there are no prop used aircraft to be found. 

Overall, at this point disappointing.

I have played exclusively the Modern Times games, and the recent start times of these games are timed in such a way that there is a wealth of options - production lines that are open, that are all viable aircraft.  For the workhorse type large aircraft there is:
- A320 with a ton of aircraft on UM
- 737 classic, with a ton of aircraft on UM
- MD-80, ditto, ton of aircraft on UM
- Fokker
- MD-90 line opening
- 737 NG line about to open
 - several choices of regional jets and props

Additionally, there is a ton of 737 Jurasic, 727, DC-9 on the UM, while their production lines are already closed.  There are some less popular Russian aircraft there too.

The same number of players start, and you can always get some aircraft that will make you some profit, years from the start of the game, while new production lines are pumping out aircraft.

I seem to recall that the early era game started with fewer players in the past.  Now we have 600 players, same as Modern Times games in this game world, with only a small fraction of used aircraft of what we see in MT worlds, with very few viable alternatives for the future.