AirwaySim
Online Airline Management Simulation
Login
Username
Password
 
or login using:
 
My Account
Username:
E-mail:
Edit account
» Achievements
» Logout
Game Credits
Credit balance: 0 Cr
Buy credits
» Credit history
» Credits FAQ

Author Topic: Competitor with bases in different countries?  (Read 422 times)

Offline Andre090904

  • Members
  • Posts: 559
Competitor with bases in different countries?
« on: November 24, 2015, 10:37:31 PM »
Hi folks,

I have a competitor based in Belgrade (Yugoslavia) who also has a base in Zagreb und Ljubljana. These 2 bases were part of Yugoslavia, but are now other countries (Croatia and Slovenia). How come his 2 bases were not closed? As far as I know, airlines are forced to close their bases when such political changes occur (as says the manual).

I'd appreciate more info on that.

Best,
André

Solemus

  • Former member
Re: Competitor with bases in different countries?
« Reply #1 on: November 24, 2015, 10:54:05 PM »
All the countries you have mentioned, as far as I know, are part of the EU and as such you can open a new airport in any country within the EU as long as your home base is already in the EU, so you could have a base in Glasgow as well as in Rome or Paris  :) :)

Offline Andre090904

  • Members
  • Posts: 559
Re: Competitor with bases in different countries?
« Reply #2 on: November 24, 2015, 10:58:03 PM »
Croatia joined the EU in 2013 and we play in 1991 in GW4. Belgrade (his HQ) is in Serbia and Serbia is not a member state of the EU.

So that cannot be the explication I'd say.

Solemus

  • Former member
Re: Competitor with bases in different countries?
« Reply #3 on: November 24, 2015, 11:01:53 PM »
Okay Andre I thought that would be the most obvious answer  :) :)

Offline Andre090904

  • Members
  • Posts: 559
Re: Competitor with bases in different countries?
« Reply #4 on: November 24, 2015, 11:08:19 PM »
Guess we have to wait for Sami then. :)

Offline Wagster

  • Members
  • Posts: 42
Re: Competitor with bases in different countries?
« Reply #5 on: November 25, 2015, 04:29:20 AM »
In GW4 "q airways" opened bases in the 80's in all major cities of Yugoslavia, then kept them all after the split into independent countries.

I heard about someone having trouble keeping his bases in Ukraine if his HQ was in Russia after independence, so Yugoslavia must be a special case.

Offline Andre090904

  • Members
  • Posts: 559
Re: Competitor with bases in different countries?
« Reply #6 on: November 25, 2015, 06:04:53 AM »
Hmm, either a bug or some exception to the rule. Would still be nice to hear a word of Sami about it. I opened a base in Zagreb based on the belief I'd have it for my own as the based airline there would be forced to leave it. Well, guess I was wrong.  :(

Offline Sami

  • Administrator
  • Members
  • Posts: 14538
    • AirwaySim - Are you the next Richard Branson?
Re: Competitor with bases in different countries?
« Reply #7 on: November 25, 2015, 09:05:19 PM »
Could be an error in the system (there are no exceptions).

Offline Andre090904

  • Members
  • Posts: 559
Re: Competitor with bases in different countries?
« Reply #8 on: November 25, 2015, 09:15:29 PM »
Thanks for your answer! Highly appreciated indeed! Is there a chance that you will review this issue?

Solemus

  • Former member
Re: Competitor with bases in different countries?
« Reply #9 on: November 25, 2015, 09:39:15 PM »
I am based in Bulgaria in GW4, I thought that was part of the EU? I have tried to open a new airport but only allowed to do so in Bulgaria. Can someone answer this for me as well please?

Thankyou

Offline Andre090904

  • Members
  • Posts: 559

The person who likes this post:
Re: Competitor with bases in different countries?
« Reply #10 on: November 25, 2015, 10:02:15 PM »
Bulgaria didnt join the EU until 2007.

Solemus

  • Former member
Re: Competitor with bases in different countries?
« Reply #11 on: November 26, 2015, 02:02:23 PM »
Bulgaria didnt join the EU until 2007.

Cheers Andre

Offline Andre090904

  • Members
  • Posts: 559
Re: Competitor with bases in different countries?
« Reply #12 on: December 02, 2015, 08:47:14 PM »
Thanks for your answer! Highly appreciated indeed! Is there a chance that you will review this issue?

Any update on this? :)

Best,
André

 

WARNING! This website is not compatible with the old version of Internet Explorer you are using.

If you are using the latest version please turn OFF the compatibility mode.