AirwaySim
Online Airline Management Simulation
Login
Username
Password
 
or login using:
 
My Account
Username:
E-mail:
Edit account
» Achievements
» Logout
Game Credits
Credit balance: 0 Cr
Buy credits
» Credit history
» Credits FAQ

Author Topic: [ok] Server Grinding its Gears  (Read 588 times)

Offline schro

  • Members
  • Posts: 3081
[ok] Server Grinding its Gears
« on: November 02, 2015, 12:31:55 AM »
So over in GW4, I was working on selling some of the aircraft and I was having quite the time with server loads times across a span of 5-10 minutes (over the past 5-10 minutes). The issue I had was focusing on confirming a listing - out of 16 planes that I listed, about 8 of them had 1-3 second "processed in" times at the bottom, and one of them had 16.68 seconds. Additionally, a few of the page loads to start confirming details were in the 1-3 second range. Since this appears outside the acceptable range of normal, I present it as something that bugs me.
« Last Edit: November 30, 2015, 10:30:14 AM by sami »

Offline Sami

  • Administrator
  • Members
  • Posts: 14540
    • AirwaySim - Are you the next Richard Branson?
Re: Server Grinding its Gears
« Reply #1 on: November 02, 2015, 08:40:21 AM »
Time when this happened?

Offline schro

  • Members
  • Posts: 3081
Re: Server Grinding its Gears
« Reply #2 on: November 02, 2015, 12:05:59 PM »
In the 10 minutes preceding the bug report.

Offline Sami

  • Administrator
  • Members
  • Posts: 14540
    • AirwaySim - Are you the next Richard Branson?
Re: Server Grinding its Gears
« Reply #3 on: November 02, 2015, 01:47:02 PM »
ok if you see slowness again, can you take up the exact times again. hh:mm:sec (so precise if possible).  .. since I've seen that usually the slowness takes less than a minute even, and really cannot pinpoint it to anything right now.

Offline schro

  • Members
  • Posts: 3081
Re: Server Grinding its Gears
« Reply #4 on: November 02, 2015, 02:46:44 PM »
ok if you see slowness again, can you take up the exact times again. hh:mm:sec (so precise if possible).  .. since I've seen that usually the slowness takes less than a minute even, and really cannot pinpoint it to anything right now.

Will do on the timing, and yes, it was not a constant slowness. I'd get say, 15 second load as shown in the screenshot, then 2-3 0.03 second loads, then a 3 second, and so on....

Using the time calculator, "19-Jun-1988 of game time equals (approx.) November 01, 2015, 08:05 PM of real time.", but I'd say it was between 8:20 and 8:27 or so.

Would it be a good idea to set a trap on the server side to log any page renders that are over a particular time threshold?

Ninja edit - timestamp on my machine for that screenshot was 7:26:25PM EST (after the DST switch). Seems my game account is stuck in DST...

Offline Sami

  • Administrator
  • Members
  • Posts: 14540
    • AirwaySim - Are you the next Richard Branson?
Re: Server Grinding its Gears
« Reply #5 on: November 02, 2015, 03:28:48 PM »
1) You can edit your time offset from profile page, it doesn't understand daylight savings ..

2) The page load logging has been in mind but I already have a database slow log in place which does the same trick basically; the slowness comes from slow database responses. (but why; is it because of the backups, the background calculations or something else, I don't know yet)

Offline schro

  • Members
  • Posts: 3081

The person who likes this post:
Re: Server Grinding its Gears
« Reply #6 on: November 02, 2015, 04:33:34 PM »
Ok. Did a little more fiddling. Basically took a single plane i was putting on the market and ran through the following loop about 10-15 times. Two page loads over 1 second as follows, maybe 2-3 others that were .75 seconds, the rest were under .05.

11:29:10 - 2 seconds

11:30:46 - 5 seconds

Loop as follows:

Do Until Bored
  Click Sell Aircraft (or Aircraft Listed for sale) from Aircraft page
  Set pricing (for first sell), click confirm
  Note speed for the sale confirmation
  Click Continue
Loop

Offline Sami

  • Administrator
  • Members
  • Posts: 14540
    • AirwaySim - Are you the next Richard Branson?
Re: Server Grinding its Gears
« Reply #7 on: November 02, 2015, 04:49:44 PM »
Try again now for reference. The backup process was running at around 25-35' so it might have caused it parts of it (speeding the backup system is work in progress).

Offline schro

  • Members
  • Posts: 3081
Re: Server Grinding its Gears
« Reply #8 on: November 02, 2015, 05:00:50 PM »
Just spent about 5 minutes - shortened the loop to pressing F5 and confirming the form resubmission for the sale. A vast majority came back at 0.04-0.05 seconds. There were a handful, maybe 10%, that were between 0.1 and 0.2 seconds. Additionally, there were a few that were much higher, as listed below. I would imagine that if the backup is running and whatever event is causing the .5-.8 second processing time, it will result in what I was seeing previously....

11:54:10 - 0.54 seconds
11:56:08 - 0.42 seconds
11:56:42 - 0.84 seconds
11:57:55 - 0.85 seconds
11:58:19 - 0.77 seconds
11:58:44 - 0.70 seconds

Offline schro

  • Members
  • Posts: 3081
Re: Server Grinding its Gears
« Reply #9 on: November 03, 2015, 12:21:41 AM »
7:20:50PM - took 11.89 seconds to enter a game world from the game menu screen (as reported by the page footer).

Offline schro

  • Members
  • Posts: 3081
Re: Server Grinding its Gears
« Reply #10 on: November 19, 2015, 02:27:07 AM »
4.18 seconds to apply hushkits to 27 BAC-111's from the my aircraft page at 9:26PM EST

Offline Sami

  • Administrator
  • Members
  • Posts: 14540
    • AirwaySim - Are you the next Richard Branson?
Re: Server Grinding its Gears
« Reply #11 on: November 30, 2015, 10:30:09 AM »
backup process has been improved, it has been the major cause of these.

Offline gazzz0x2z

  • Members
  • Posts: 1393
Re: [ok] Server Grinding its Gears
« Reply #12 on: November 30, 2015, 12:29:39 PM »


I prefer a slower game than a non-backuped game. By far. Thanks for the good work.

 

WARNING! This website is not compatible with the old version of Internet Explorer you are using.

If you are using the latest version please turn OFF the compatibility mode.