AirwaySim
Online Airline Management Simulation
Login
Username
Password
 
or login using:
 
My Account
Username:
E-mail:
Edit account
» Achievements
» Logout
Game Credits
Credit balance: 0 Cr
Buy credits
» Credit history
» Credits FAQ

Author Topic: What planes have you used in AWS?  (Read 919 times)

Offline CarlBagot

  • Members
  • Posts: 342
What planes have you used in AWS?
« on: October 09, 2015, 05:08:58 PM »
Dates are appropriate,  probably forgot a few types

1950s:
CW46, DC3, IL 14P, Connie, 

1960s:
Breguet 763, Yak 40, Tu-124, Tu-134 (A, B), Caravelle(most),  DC-9 (all),  737-200adv  DC-8 (most variants),  707-320C,

1970s: 747 (all variants including SP),  L-1011-500,

1980s: MD-80 (most) , 767 (all), A310-300, 747 (300,  400), A320

1990: 747D, Il-96 (300, M,  later 400),  777, A330,

2000 and later : (every widebody  including A380 with the exception of the A350 and 777X).

Other notable types : S2000, ATR 42, 75, etc


Offline CarlBagot

  • Members
  • Posts: 342
Re: What planes have you used in AWS?
« Reply #1 on: October 09, 2015, 10:40:21 PM »
Almost forgot,  also used VFW-614 and Tu-114 l ;D

Offline mp81

  • Members
  • Posts: 94
Re: What planes have you used in AWS?
« Reply #2 on: October 10, 2015, 12:36:45 AM »
what? no tu-144?

Offline CarlBagot

  • Members
  • Posts: 342
Re: What planes have you used in AWS?
« Reply #3 on: October 10, 2015, 06:19:26 AM »
Bought em and flew em symbolically.... but no, for the most part, with the exception of an error which the Tu-114 airline due to fleet change over, all those other type were used profitably/successfully.

The Yak 40, Tu-124 and Tu-134 was used in my current GW2 airline with high profit margins (no competitions out of Bulgaria), the VFW 614, Mercure (forgot that one)  and the Il-96 was used in my past GW4 (old) airline in South Korea, the previous 2 helped me beat my competition while the Il-96 was for the most part without competition and outlasting weak attempts.

Now bare in mind, I also replaced the Soviet types in a timely manner (eg, most lasted a max of 14 years and some less, the Il-96-300 sucks and was quickly replaced by the M and a small amount of -400s which lasted till game end in 2019)

Offline alexgv1

  • Members
  • Posts: 2184
Re: What planes have you used in AWS?
« Reply #4 on: October 10, 2015, 08:09:32 PM »
BAe 146 only plane for me  8)
CEO of South Where Airlines (SWA|WH)

Offline SwissairVirtual

  • Members
  • Posts: 4
Re: What planes have you used in AWS?
« Reply #5 on: October 11, 2015, 12:55:16 PM »
I flew with B727-100, Saab 340, BAe 146-100 and -200, IL 18, HS748 2A and 2B.

Offline KEMKid

  • Members
  • Posts: 151
Re: What planes have you used in AWS?
« Reply #6 on: October 13, 2015, 09:26:40 PM »
I'm mostly a turboprop flier in later years, where I utilize the Saab 2000 or Bombardier Q400. Both are faster turboprops, with the difference being size.

I've learned the Saab 2000 can compete with regional jets on routes.

Offline Cardinal

  • Members
  • Posts: 967

The person who likes this post:
Re: What planes have you used in AWS?
« Reply #7 on: October 14, 2015, 12:53:54 AM »
I tried to run a Mercure fleet out of ORY. It did not go well  :-\

Offline CarlBagot

  • Members
  • Posts: 342
Re: What planes have you used in AWS?
« Reply #8 on: October 14, 2015, 03:19:16 AM »
It's a bugger of a plane, has more range than it used to (800nm now?) but it and the VFW 614 meant I was domestic /very short ranged and a well run airline with 737s or DC9s would probably be able to oversaturate my routes while having monopolies outside my reach.... thankfully it happened otherwise.

Offline NovemberCharlie

  • Members
  • Posts: 604
Re: What planes have you used in AWS?
« Reply #9 on: October 14, 2015, 01:16:56 PM »
Pfew quite a list for me...
A300/A310
A320
A330/A340
An148/An158
ATR42/72
Beech 1900D
B707
B717
B727
B737
B747
B757
B767
B777
B787
BBD Cs100/Cs300
DHC8-Q400
BN-2A
DHC3
DC6
DC7
ERJ170-195
EMB120
ERJ135-145
Fairchild Metro
FD DO528-928
F27
IL12
IL14
IL18
IL62
IL96
Lockheed Conny
L1011
DC9
MD90
MD11
MRJ70/90
NAMC YS11
PC12
SAAB2000
Tu204

And those are only the ones I am absolutely certain off  ;D

Offline mikebravo

  • Members
  • Posts: 50
Re: What planes have you used in AWS?
« Reply #10 on: October 14, 2015, 05:22:14 PM »
DC9 for now. Looking forward to having Saab2000 and Dash8 available to order.

In the past (4 years ago with an account that got deactivated) I remember having used 737adv, 737ng, 777, saab2000, dash8 and some antonov turboprop that was really competitive for an USSR plane (dont recall the model though)

Offline Cardinal

  • Members
  • Posts: 967
Re: What planes have you used in AWS?
« Reply #11 on: October 15, 2015, 04:32:34 PM »
In past games I've used some oddballs:

HS121 Trident
DH114 Heron
Yak42
Mercure

There was also a Jet Age game four or five years ago where I was the Caravelle King. By the end of that game I think I wound up owning every Caravelle ever built.

Another game I flew A300s domestically in Japan. Dozens of them. But that only worked until the late 1980s when I had to replace them all with MD80s to stay competitive.

Offline gazzz0x2z

  • Members
  • Posts: 1382

The 2 people who like this post:
Re: What planes have you used in AWS?
« Reply #12 on: October 15, 2015, 07:10:40 PM »
In previous GW3, I owned more than 600 A148/158. That was fun, keeping the line open alone. They were so cheap, they allowed me to overcome a slow start the 15 first years(I was a newbie after all).

Also flown :
737; 777; CRJs; ERJs; Ejets; And even a few 111 at a key moment. I also toyed with IL62s, but it was NOT a good idea; especially in 1998.

For next gw, I've got other plans.

Offline alexgv1

  • Members
  • Posts: 2184

The 2 people who like this post:
Re: What planes have you used in AWS?
« Reply #13 on: October 15, 2015, 09:39:14 PM »
I also toyed with IL62s, but it was NOT a good idea; especially in 1998.

Somebody please make this into a demotivator  :laugh:
CEO of South Where Airlines (SWA|WH)

 

WARNING! This website is not compatible with the old version of Internet Explorer you are using.

If you are using the latest version please turn OFF the compatibility mode.