Edit account
» Achievements
» Logout
Game Credits
Credit balance: 0 Cr
Buy credits
» Credit history
» Credits FAQ

Author Topic: 4th fleet = 4x more costly to operate  (Read 1683 times)

Offline vortex787

• Members
Re: 4th fleet = 4x more costly to operate
« Reply #20 on: June 05, 2015, 09:54:17 AM »
[see picture in the first post]

Hi there,

I'm fairly new to the game and therefore I would like to ask you, if the comparison in costs in the picture in the first post is right after you received your first plane of the 4th fleet, or is it with some active planes of the 4th fleet?
I did not know that the costs stack up this fast if you are operating various fleets. I wish I could have a look at these stats in the (now-closed) BW, where I operated 5 different A/C types with round about 350 A/C in total. Looking back at this I wonder if I could save a lot of money by flying some routes with A/C that are actually 30% too large for the demand on these routes but operating only 4 fleets.

As I said I'm new to this game and as of now I find it pretty hard to calculate. But let's say you're operating an airline with 500 A/C of 3 fleet types (737, 757, 767) and you are looking at further expansion in the short-haul/regional sector. The perfect A/C for this (regarding demand and frequency of flights to your planned short-haul-destinations) would be the ATR 72-500. How do you know in advance if buying 30 ATR's and therefore open up a 4th fleet will ruin your income or will generate more profit in the end? Is it just trial and error or can you calculate this anyhow?

Offline schro

• Members
« Reply #21 on: June 05, 2015, 02:38:13 PM »
Hi there,

I'm fairly new to the game and therefore I would like to ask you, if the comparison in costs in the picture in the first post is right after you received your first plane of the 4th fleet, or is it with some active planes of the 4th fleet?