AirwaySim
Online Airline Management Simulation
Login
Username
Password
 
or login using:
 
My Account
Username:
E-mail:
Edit account
» Achievements
» Logout
Game Credits
Credit balance: 0 Cr
Buy credits
» Credit history
» Credits FAQ

Author Topic: DC6  (Read 992 times)

Offline Master

  • Members
  • Posts: 145
DC6
« on: February 19, 2014, 01:15:04 PM »
In the past games I had bad experiences with SOME of my technical stop flights, regarding the passenger ratios.

Despite 100% route image + 7 days regular flights (with daylight timing) + 200% demand...I can only reach the 50% passenger ratio.

For example with a 767 from Karachi via Ireland to Chicago was at most 50% passenger load, but a direct 777 was 98%...

Now the question is, if I fly with a DC6 from Karachi via China to Tokyo what will happen?

Offline Andre

  • Members
  • Posts: 1091
Re: DC6
« Reply #1 on: February 20, 2014, 07:54:52 AM »
In the past games I had bad experiences with SOME of my technical stop flights, regarding the passenger ratios.

Despite 100% route image + 7 days regular flights (with daylight timing) + 200% demand...I can only reach the 50% passenger ratio.

For example with a 767 from Karachi via Ireland to Chicago was at most 50% passenger load, but a direct 777 was 98%...

Now the question is, if I fly with a DC6 from Karachi via China to Tokyo what will happen?

My own experience is that this has been improved (I'm not sure that there has been a change), but I've been able to attract almost all the pax with tech-stops.

Offline Master

  • Members
  • Posts: 145
Re: DC6
« Reply #2 on: February 20, 2014, 09:24:02 AM »
Thank you Andre...I will also try & share my new experience with you.

Offline CUR$E - God of AirwaySim

  • Members
  • Posts: 4028
Re: DC6
« Reply #3 on: February 20, 2014, 10:01:17 AM »
I do techstops with DC-6 and Constellations out of Los Angeles and they work. However, I try not to fly them Economy only.

Offline Master

  • Members
  • Posts: 145
Re: DC6
« Reply #4 on: February 24, 2014, 10:09:27 AM »
This was what I was afraid of;

EAS1201
EAS1202 
KHI - MAD  0825-2200 
MAD - KHI  2315-1855 
Days: 1------ 
Leg 1 via: BJV 
Leg 2 via: BJV 
 
Y: 38.5% C: 50.0%
Y: 43.1% C: 25.0%
 40.6%
(42.8% -5.1%)
 2.63
(2.55 +3.1%)
 1.07
(1.09 -1.8%)
 DC6
AP-ASA  $ 6 185
($ 6 415 -3.6%)

Offline CUR$E - God of AirwaySim

  • Members
  • Posts: 4028
Re: DC6
« Reply #5 on: February 24, 2014, 10:53:59 AM »
RI 100 and CI >70?

Offline Master

  • Members
  • Posts: 145
Re: DC6
« Reply #6 on: February 25, 2014, 08:50:55 AM »
RI = 82%
CI = 80.1%

Offline CUR$E - God of AirwaySim

  • Members
  • Posts: 4028
Re: DC6
« Reply #7 on: February 25, 2014, 09:02:03 AM »
Hm. Wait for RI 100.

However, the business class part of the route is very small... I don't think there is much profit in there but I could be wrong.

Offline Master

  • Members
  • Posts: 145
Re: DC6
« Reply #8 on: February 25, 2014, 11:01:43 AM »
Dear Curse, I have another record for you...this time from/to Karachi to/from London Gatwick...

RI=100% CI=80%

EAS1205
EAS1206 
KHI - LGW  0715-1930 
LGW - KHI  2045-1730 
Days: 1------ 
Leg 1 via: BJV 
Leg 2 via: BJV 
 
Y: 41.5% C: 50.0%
Y: 38.5% C: 25.0%
 39.9%
(44.9% -11.1%)
 2.56
(2.54 +0.8%)
 1.02
(1.14 -10.5%)
 DC6
AP-ASE  $ 5 399
($ 6 426 -16%)

What do you say? Tokyo is the same, Osaka is the same...

Offline CUR$E - God of AirwaySim

  • Members
  • Posts: 4028
Re: DC6
« Reply #9 on: February 25, 2014, 02:20:12 PM »
I would probably open a bug report if I would only get ~30-50% of the available PAX from a route without competition and RI 100, especially if it's Economy class.

Do you use standard prices?

Offline Master

  • Members
  • Posts: 145
Re: DC6
« Reply #10 on: February 25, 2014, 08:23:53 PM »
Yes, of course I apply the standard rates only...I learned to play this game from Matt (Sanabas) :)

Should I report this directly or can you help me to convey it to Sami?

Offline CUR$E - God of AirwaySim

  • Members
  • Posts: 4028
Re: DC6
« Reply #11 on: February 25, 2014, 08:33:32 PM »
Report it directly in the bug forums with the numbers and routes you posted here.

Offline Sanabas

  • Members
  • Posts: 2161
Re: DC6
« Reply #12 on: February 25, 2014, 11:06:32 PM »
Yes, of course I apply the standard rates only...I learned to play this game from Matt (Sanabas) :)

 :laugh: It was fun having long-running strategy conversation with the person you're sharing IST with. Welcome back.

Unfortunately, tech-stops don't work very well right now. You can essentially take the displayed demand and halve it, and you won't be getting any more pax than that with a single flight. Not much point flying a tech-stopping DC-6 unless the route is 150+ pax.

http://www.airwaysim.com/forum/index.php/topic,45058.0.html

Offline CUR$E - God of AirwaySim

  • Members
  • Posts: 4028
Re: DC6
« Reply #13 on: February 25, 2014, 11:17:36 PM »
That wasn't a problem in Jet Age 2 or so before the tech-stops were extended to more than one possible. However, it seems it is one now but without any pattern.

Offline Master

  • Members
  • Posts: 145
Re: DC6
« Reply #14 on: February 25, 2014, 11:24:04 PM »
Hi Matt, nice to hear from you guy :)

Thanks Curse...you are really great

Offline Tiberius

  • Members
  • Posts: 235
Re: DC6
« Reply #15 on: February 26, 2014, 12:53:01 AM »
I disagree with naysayers.  Tech stops can work but you should count on some business class and expect load factors to drop if a non-stop shows up.  You also will be lucky to break even the first couple months of flying it.  Its my strategy right now and this is the second time I've tried tech stopped Connies from Honolulu to great success!

Offline Master

  • Members
  • Posts: 145
Re: DC6
« Reply #16 on: February 26, 2014, 09:06:39 AM »
Dear Tiberius,

I am flying to Tokyo, Osaka, London & Madrid for the last 6 months and always with 65+4 (economy+business) configuration. There's no competition.

My all said routes images are 100%...there is nothing wrong on the paper; but it's in the game :)

Offline Tiberius

  • Members
  • Posts: 235
Re: DC6
« Reply #17 on: February 26, 2014, 05:33:02 PM »
Is your Company Image up fairly high too?  Prices high/low enough?  Like I said I've used them before and in this game.  I'm using them right now making roughly 12-15k each route each day.  Not the greatest margins but you can build a business off of it.

Offline Master

  • Members
  • Posts: 145
Re: DC6
« Reply #18 on: February 28, 2014, 04:38:31 PM »
Route Image: 100%
Company Image: 80.2%
Ticket Price: Default (standard)
Competition: No
Demand: 200% more than my supply

 

WARNING! This website is not compatible with the old version of Internet Explorer you are using.

If you are using the latest version please turn OFF the compatibility mode.