AirwaySim
Online Airline Management Simulation
Login
Username
Password
 
or login using:
 
My Account
Username:
E-mail:
Edit account
» Achievements
» Logout
Game Credits
Credit balance: 0 Cr
Buy credits
» Credit history
» Credits FAQ

Author Topic: Gah- 4 year wait for DC-10s  (Read 929 times)

Offline Superbenj

  • Members
  • Posts: 247
Gah- 4 year wait for DC-10s
« on: August 08, 2013, 03:26:54 PM »
When did the order book there explode!

It was about a year last time I checked!

Do I go for 747s? Will be a 4th fleet on top of my 3 DC-10s too. This has really goosed my plans.

Why was the 747 so popular when it seems to be such a poor choice compared to the DC-10?


Offline Frederik

  • Members
  • Posts: 162
Re: Gah- 4 year wait for DC-10s
« Reply #1 on: August 08, 2013, 03:54:36 PM »
632 DC-10s on order!!! This is going to flood the market as there is nowhere near the demand to absorb this
Swiss quality all over the world

Offline Superbenj

  • Members
  • Posts: 247
Re: Gah- 4 year wait for DC-10s
« Reply #2 on: August 08, 2013, 04:21:29 PM »
It does seem utterly crazy, luckily only 8 are currently due at my base (BOS), although I think I'm about to make that 12

Offline EsquireFlyer

  • Members
  • Posts: 1327
Re: Gah- 4 year wait for DC-10s
« Reply #3 on: August 08, 2013, 06:03:02 PM »
632 DC-10s on order!!! This is going to flood the market as there is nowhere near the demand to absorb this

There is enough demand..and even if there isn't, DC10 is cheaper to operate than DC8, so it's a better plane even if it can't be filled.

Offline Andriy

  • Members
  • Posts: 226
Re: Gah- 4 year wait for DC-10s
« Reply #4 on: August 08, 2013, 09:02:57 PM »
Is there a price inflation over time? I.e. if DC10 costs now $1,000 - will it be $1,200 in 5 years time?

Offline EsquireFlyer

  • Members
  • Posts: 1327
Re: Gah- 4 year wait for DC-10s
« Reply #5 on: August 08, 2013, 09:08:31 PM »
Is there a price inflation over time? I.e. if DC10 costs now $1,000 - will it be $1,200 in 5 years time?

yes but if you buy it now you get the current (lower) price even if delivery takes 5 years

Offline Boot

  • Members
  • Posts: 199
Re: Gah- 4 year wait for DC-10s
« Reply #6 on: August 22, 2013, 01:26:15 PM »
There is enough demand..and even if there isn't, DC10 is cheaper to operate than DC8, so it's a better plane even if it can't be filled.
When you can fill them then yes, but I would not be so sure when talking about 150-200 sold seats.
My records show that DC10-30 is about 74% more expensive to lease than DC8-62/63 (I'm not currently in GW that has both of them so can't check)
has 56% higher MTOW (landing, handling costs)
requires 33% more stewardesses
has 2x longer turn around (harder to schedule, less profitable flight-time)

On the other hand DC10 has approx 25% less fuel consumption and 2.4% more speed.

Maintenance costs seem to be approx. the same.

And you can probably escape one fleet change when running DC8-s into 1980-s and then change them to 767-s.


Offline [SC] - King Kong

  • Members
  • Posts: 598
Re: Gah- 4 year wait for DC-10s
« Reply #7 on: August 22, 2013, 02:50:52 PM »
the dc10 is good until the 90's :)

tm07x

  • Former member
Re: Gah- 4 year wait for DC-10s
« Reply #8 on: August 23, 2013, 10:47:54 PM »
motherf...... 5 year wait on the 757  :o

Offline Name_Omitted

  • Members
  • Posts: 292
Re: Gah- 4 year wait for DC-10s
« Reply #9 on: November 14, 2013, 07:51:22 PM »
Why was the 747 so popular when it seems to be such a poor choice compared to the DC-10?

Airway Sim, by it's design, can't replicate the hub and spoke system that the 747 thrives on.  If you can keep them filled, the 747 will print money for you.  If you are simply doing city pairs, it's hard to keep them filled.

So, if we were doing complex airline routes (exacerbated by limited open skies agreements), and each end of the 747 flight had feeder routes that kept the 747 full, it would be a much more popular plane in-game, until open skies and long range twins made more direct flights possible with smaller aircraft.

 

WARNING! This website is not compatible with the old version of Internet Explorer you are using.

If you are using the latest version please turn OFF the compatibility mode.