AirwaySim
Online Airline Management Simulation
Login
Username
Password
 
or login using:
 
My Account
Username:
E-mail:
Edit account
» Achievements
» Logout
Game Credits
Credit balance: 0 Cr
Buy credits
» Credit history
» Credits FAQ

Author Topic: Donkey route not working  (Read 4113 times)

Offline Tias

  • Members
  • Posts: 60
Re: Donkey route not working
« Reply #40 on: August 17, 2013, 05:41:51 AM »
Don' have opportunities to test the 2500 ranges routes on A318 simply because I don't have any long range A318 variant

But found this route which resembles yours, and it is sold out at 10% premium price



Thanks, this is like my route, only the outcome is different. I sincerely don't know why my route didn't work with A318 like it did with A320. I'm retrying it, I will see how it goes. As I said in my initial post, I was able to get 127Y, 100% of the demand plus 3 C, +1 demand with 10% off default price with A320 while I was getting 90Y 2C with A318. (This is for a Friday flight as an example) When you're counting pennies each week, it's a big difference.

When comparing, check (/post) also the demands of the routes as that is one part of the equations there.

Will do! demand is bit higher now, but I assume percentage shouldn't differ. I'm still waiting for route image to hit 100%

Btw,(side note) advertising on a route seems to affect the route image positively even when route is not flown, I'm not sure if it was like that all this time. For some reason, I always thought advertising on route was a waste of money. I learned something new this time around.

Offline Tias

  • Members
  • Posts: 60
Re: Donkey route not working
« Reply #41 on: August 17, 2013, 06:10:29 AM »
Actually seating configuration differs from your example. I was using 138Y(STD) 10C(STD) seating on A320 vs 120Y(HD) 5C(STD) on A318.
I don't know how much that plays a role on a non-competitive route.

jneil121

  • Former member
Re: Donkey route not working
« Reply #42 on: August 17, 2013, 06:47:18 AM »
There is your problem, you are flying a long flight with HD seating which affects passenger comfort which in turn affects RI. Which is probably why your 320 was more popular due to its STD seating.

Offline Tias

  • Members
  • Posts: 60
Re: Donkey route not working
« Reply #43 on: August 17, 2013, 09:55:19 AM »
There is your problem, you are flying a long flight with HD seating which affects passenger comfort which in turn affects RI. Which is probably why your 320 was more popular due to its STD seating.


You may be right... but again a in non-competitive flight, it shouldn't matter... again in my opinion.

Offline Andre

  • Members
  • Posts: 1091
Re: Donkey route not working
« Reply #44 on: August 20, 2013, 03:44:37 AM »
You may be right... but again a in non-competitive flight, it shouldn't matter... again in my opinion.

The HD seating might have been the issue. But I've experienced conflicting results on this, I've run B727-200adv in 156Y HD / 20C STD configuration coast to coast and filling the plane up, with demand saturated +20% or so, and sharing the route 50/50 with a competitor. On the other hand, I've run BAC One-Eleven 500 with 110Y HD / 5C STD seating on routes barely longer than 1000 NM, with no competition, and not been able to fill it up. Both with 100 RI of course.

It's difficult to measure since there are many factors to take into consideration. But I agree with you that if the pax doesn't have a choice (other than road or train, which already have been deducted before the pax demand figure), they should pick your plane even if it is a crammed Twin Otter with 5 tech stops.

Offline Tias

  • Members
  • Posts: 60
Re: Donkey route not working
« Reply #45 on: August 22, 2013, 06:52:02 AM »
Ok here we go... I restarted to the route in an attempt to replicate my previous experience running A318 on 2000+nm route vs 320.

I had to get RI from 0 to 100 to be able properly replicate. To do so I used 120(HD) C10(STD) A320.

Demand:
ADA-FAO: ~120/day with 2 C across the board (95% accuracy)
FAO-ADA: ~110/day with 2 C across the board (95% accuracy)

Price: 12% off default

Result: months after 100% RI reached..
Y: 84.3% LF (101 seats sold) C: 27.1% LF (3 seats sold) (10 STD C seating aircraft)
Y: 86.8% LF (104 seats sold) C: 27.1% LF (3 seats sold) (10 STD C seating aircraft)


« Last Edit: August 24, 2013, 08:27:26 AM by Tias »

Offline Tias

  • Members
  • Posts: 60
Re: Donkey route not working
« Reply #46 on: August 22, 2013, 06:58:23 AM »
After a while I put A318 back on the route...

Aircraft: A318 - 120Y(HD) 5C (STD)

Demand:
ADA-FAO: ~110/day with 2 C across the board (95% accuracy)
FAO-ADA: ~110/day with 2 C across the board (95% accuracy)

Price: 12% off default

Result: with 100% RI
Y: 91.1% LF (109 seats sold) C: 42.5% LF (2 seats sold) (5 STD C seating aircraft)
Y: 87.2% LF (105 seats sold) C: 42.5% LF (2 seats sold) (5 STD C seating aircraft)

« Last Edit: August 22, 2013, 07:21:09 AM by Tias »

Offline Tias

  • Members
  • Posts: 60
Re: Donkey route not working
« Reply #47 on: August 22, 2013, 07:26:03 AM »
So yeah...  this time around I make slightly more money (ticket income) using an aircraft that is not designed to fly the route...
C sold seats seem to drop to default estimated demand, but Y seat sales increased.

Again, 12% off default price, no competition, in both cases A320 was significantly older than A318.

Couple of differentiating points:
At my initial experience I was using
A320 with 138Y(STD) 10C(STD) then A318 120Y(HD) 5(STD) config.
vs
A320 with 120Y(HD) 10C(STD) then A318 120Y(HD) 5(STD) config.
Also, back then my CV and CV was lower.

However, if a single airline flying the route, non of the above points should matter... in my opinion.
« Last Edit: August 22, 2013, 07:33:15 AM by Tias »

Offline Tias

  • Members
  • Posts: 60
Re: Donkey route not working
« Reply #48 on: August 24, 2013, 04:46:05 AM »
To complete the replication, I just switch back to A320 138Y(STD) C10 (STD).

I will post the results after couple of weeks, game time.

Offline Tias

  • Members
  • Posts: 60
Re: Donkey route not working
« Reply #49 on: August 25, 2013, 03:58:11 AM »
Price: 12% off default
Aircraft: A320 138Y(STD) C10(STD)

Offline Tias

  • Members
  • Posts: 60
Re: Donkey route not working
« Reply #50 on: August 26, 2013, 04:30:55 AM »
Price: default
Aircraft: A318

Sold seats fluctuates so much that I can't even make any sense out of these results. Looks like randomization, errr too random.
Regardless, if I'm the only airline flying I should be seeing higher numbers.


Offline Teadaze

  • Members
  • Posts: 777
Re: Donkey route not working
« Reply #51 on: August 26, 2013, 08:00:02 AM »
Price: default
Aircraft: A318

Sold seats fluctuates so much that I can't even make any sense out of these results. Looks like randomization, errr too random.
Regardless, if I'm the only airline flying I should be seeing higher numbers.



360-> 403... you raised the price by 10% on that route when switching into 318... obviously your demand and seat filled will be lowered.
« Last Edit: August 26, 2013, 08:05:24 AM by Aoitsuki »

Offline Tias

  • Members
  • Posts: 60
Re: Donkey route not working
« Reply #52 on: August 26, 2013, 09:12:34 AM »
360-> 403... you raised the price by 10% on that route when switching into 318... obviously your demand and seat filled will be lowered.

Yes I did. I went from 12% off default to default... I'm trying to understand, what's the major player in the calculation. Regardless, it should not affect my income as much as it does currently, since I'm the only idiot flying the route. That's the main point.

Offline Sanabas

  • Members
  • Posts: 2161
Re: Donkey route not working
« Reply #53 on: August 26, 2013, 03:03:56 PM »
Yeah, but at 12% off, you're actually getting pax who aren't part of the demand, who only decide to fly because the tickets are cheap. That's how you were averaging 119 Y seats sold, despite demand only averaging ~110.

Offline Tias

  • Members
  • Posts: 60
Re: Donkey route not working
« Reply #54 on: August 26, 2013, 06:20:48 PM »
Yeah, but at 12% off, you're actually getting pax who aren't part of the demand, who only decide to fly because the tickets are cheap. That's how you were averaging 119 Y seats sold, despite demand only averaging ~110.

Demand fluctuates so much. I just took this screen shot and demand is now 120.


 

Offline Kadachiman

  • Members
  • Posts: 914
Re: How I couldn't make money with owned A318 on 2000nm route
« Reply #55 on: December 05, 2013, 07:55:44 PM »
I guess it's my bad that I have not given out enough information on the route I was complaining about. Donkey cart serves ADA-FAO (2054nm), between 08:10 and 20:35 with an aircraft "designed" to serve 2340nm. I wanted to post this just to rule out 23:00-05:00 restriction comments, since it looks like I have to be very precise about what I say otherwise AWS religion kicks in.  ???


I would have and probably do still make the same mistake as I am not a plane enthusiast, I am a sim game enthusiast and this is a great sim regardless of if it being based on planes, ships, trains, etc
So with the info I had available e.g. a plane with sufficient capacity, sufficient range and no competition then how would I know that it will never be able to capture the stated demand if I did not get the 'this plane may not be suitable for this route' message?

To me the answer is simple....if it can't get all of the demand even though it looks like it should....then the sim should tell me before I schedule this plane on this route
Or should I just assume that I should only actually fly 70% of the stated max distance a plane can fly?
« Last Edit: December 05, 2013, 08:01:30 PM by Kadachiman »

 

WARNING! This website is not compatible with the old version of Internet Explorer you are using.

If you are using the latest version please turn OFF the compatibility mode.