AirwaySim
Online Airline Management Simulation
Login
Username
Password
 
or login using:
 
My Account
Username:
E-mail:
Edit account
» Achievements
» Logout
Game Credits
Credit balance: 0 Cr
Buy credits
» Credit history
» Credits FAQ

Author Topic: You don't need B737/A320/CS300!  (Read 2577 times)

Offline Monica

  • Members
  • Posts: 694
You don't need B737/A320/CS300!
« on: February 28, 2013, 03:27:14 PM »
I read somewhere in the forums claim that everyone who wasn't flying either Airbus A320 series, Boeing 737 NG or Bombardier CS series would go bankrupt in MT7.

Well, I proved you wrong!  ;D

I had the following aircraft when MT7 ended:

325 x MD-90
101 x A330/A340
80 x E-jets

Average active fleet age = 15,6 years.

And my finances were good too. I was making $140,000,000 a week in pure profit for the last couple of game years. I'm not sure how high the fuel price was in the end, but in my opinion this means you don't need the absolute most fuel efficient aircraft to succeed. My fleet was the 17th biggest in the game world, but my fuel usage was the 12th biggest. I was not flying very fuel efficient aircraft. 373 aircraft were owned, 133 were leased. But even my old leased A340 planes were making money. If fuel prices had increased another 30% I would have survived, but with lower profits. 50% and I would have lost money.
« Last Edit: February 28, 2013, 03:35:37 PM by Monica »

Online JumboShrimp

  • Members
  • Posts: 5991
Re: You don't need B737/A320/CS300!
« Reply #1 on: February 28, 2013, 08:31:36 PM »
MD 90 is not bad.  There are some differences (advantages) to 737NG / A320, but there are also differnces between how well player use their aircraft.  Good player is going to be fine with MD 90.

Online schro

  • Members
  • Posts: 3064
Re: You don't need B737/A320/CS300!
« Reply #2 on: February 28, 2013, 08:36:03 PM »
If the M90 would actually carry the number of pax that it does in the real world, then it would be far more viable. In game, it has the same capacity as an MD80 even though it is a longer plane. Delta flies these in 16C/144Y all day long... McD just never bothered to go for a higher certified pax count..

Offline Infinity

  • Members
  • Posts: 1564
    • Aviation Awareness
Re: You don't need B737/A320/CS300!
« Reply #3 on: February 28, 2013, 09:41:46 PM »
The MD-90 is not bad, the disadvantage in fuel burn is neglectable if the airline is well run and stable. What's a problem is that you have to run a one-size-fits-all approach and some other minor stuff.
Your other fleet choices were also good, so no reason why you should have performed badly due to the aircraft types.

Offline Troxartas86

  • Members
  • Posts: 877
Re: You don't need B737/A320/CS300!
« Reply #4 on: March 01, 2013, 03:58:20 AM »
I made it from start to finish with nothing but E120s, most of which were approaching 20 years old in the end.

Offline Pilot Oatmeal

  • Members
  • Posts: 700
Re: You don't need B737/A320/CS300!
« Reply #5 on: March 01, 2013, 08:54:28 AM »
I made it from start to finish with nothing but E120s, most of which were approaching 20 years old in the end.

Where were you based Mr. Trox?  :o

Offline NovemberCharlie

  • Members
  • Posts: 604
Re: You don't need B737/A320/CS300!
« Reply #6 on: March 01, 2013, 11:59:21 AM »
Though I did end with 737, to kill of my competition, I didn't need or rely on them in any way. Had 14 of them and I didn't buy them untill after my profits rose to over 70 million.

Also 777s were very good to me and so was ULH...
Ended with 35 -200s which all made profits of more than 1.5mln and some consistently over 2mln.


Offline Troxartas86

  • Members
  • Posts: 877
Re: You don't need B737/A320/CS300!
« Reply #7 on: March 05, 2013, 04:53:38 AM »
Where were you based Mr. Trox?  :o

I had two bases in French Polynesia. HQ in Tahiti.

 

WARNING! This website is not compatible with the old version of Internet Explorer you are using.

If you are using the latest version please turn OFF the compatibility mode.