Edit account
» Achievements
» Logout
Game Credits
Credit balance: 0 Cr
Buy credits
» Credit history
» Credits FAQ

Author Topic: Expansion?  (Read 1410 times)

Chaxterium

• Former member
Expansion?
« on: September 11, 2012, 05:25:00 AM »
Hello,

I'm just looking for some advice. I'm still somewhat new to AirwaySim but I've played a number of games now and I think I'm starting to get the handle on things.

I'm currently running 7 mid-size jets (quite profitably for now) from my home base which I very carefully selected and made sure there were no other operators. The problem though is that since it's a bit of a smaller airport I'm quickly running out of routes for my 100 seat jets so in order to expand I'm thinking I'll need a smaller aircraft since there appear to be a ton of routes in the 30-50 seat range. I was thinking along the lines of DHC-8-300 or ATR42.

My question is if it's a good idea to introduce a second fleet type if I only have 7 of my first type. I'm worried about increasing my expenses too much. I'm making some decent money now so I'm thinking it will be ok but I thought I'd seek some advice from people with much more experience than me.

Cheers,
Chax

Offline Kaskoblue

• Members
Re: Expansion?
« Reply #1 on: September 11, 2012, 06:57:27 AM »
well... when I started this game I was in a similar situation. Based on a small airport with not much room for growth with only one a/c type. So I decided to go for a mix of second-hand DC9-30 and F27, until the airport became too small for them too. But, by then I had enough muscle to open a second base. I have now grown into a 90+ a/c airline, valued over two billions. My fleet today consists of MD81/82/83/87, ATR42/72 (all owned, almost all bought brand new) and 8 leased Tri Star 500:s.
So, I would say, go for it!

vbrgds
Kaskoblue

exchlbg

• Former member
Re: Expansion?
« Reply #2 on: September 11, 2012, 09:45:53 AM »