AirwaySim
Online Airline Management Simulation
Login
Username
Password
 
or login using:
 
My Account
Username:
E-mail:
Edit account
» Achievements
» Logout
Game Credits
Credit balance: 0 Cr
Buy credits
» Credit history
» Credits FAQ

Author Topic: Two techstops  (Read 909 times)

Offline Sami

  • Administrator
  • Members
  • Posts: 14535
    • AirwaySim - Are you the next Richard Branson?
Two techstops
« on: March 15, 2012, 07:55:43 PM »
Anyone actually using them?  :P

(it is actually more a feature for the early 1950s scenarios...but still)

Offline alexgv1

  • Members
  • Posts: 2184
Re: Two techstops
« Reply #1 on: March 15, 2012, 08:03:16 PM »
Not doing longhaul yet so not at the moment, and am not enough of a bad person to double tech stop my C-46 across America. Plus I plan to make money not use my planes like that  :P
CEO of South Where Airlines (SWA|WH)

Offline Jona L.

  • Members
  • Posts: 3361
Re: Two techstops
« Reply #2 on: March 15, 2012, 08:42:12 PM »
exactly, double techstopping would make sense in a 1946-2030 game, where in the beginning you can only choose from C46, DC3 and maybe some 10 seaters. So that your range is actually limited to under 1000NM which means you need to tech (and double tech-stop) planes to actually reach most of the destinations at such early dates.

Though I generally tend to not using tech stopping at all, as it usually makes things complicated upon fleet renewals (complete closure and re-opening of routes, big time differences between tech-stop and non-tech-stop routes, etc.) I only use them when not otherly possible (e.g. in JetAge games with DC-8 for the 6000NM+ routes where I know I will never have 744 or 772ER/LR available to actually fly the routes nonstop, or in DotM games using 744 for the 8000-10000NM routes with a techie because 77L won't be out before the end) This is all mostly caused due to the calculation on which planes will come and which will not before the end of the game. A long game world should also fix that, as players would look forward to a more long term planning which will also effect route-building.

cheers,
Jona L.

vitongwangki

  • Former member
Re: Two techstops
« Reply #3 on: March 16, 2012, 01:05:54 AM »
Anyone actually using them?  :P

(it is actually more a feature for the early 1950s scenarios...but still)
Will try to use very soon with DC-6 flying from SIN to LAX. :) (It spends 3 days (72 hours) for a round trip)

Dorito_25

  • Former member
Re: Two techstops
« Reply #4 on: March 16, 2012, 07:53:18 AM »
I am confused as to whether I spend money and occupy demand NOW before my rivals with a tech-stop... or I wait for the nice jet aircraft to be certified and play the waiting game.

Offline swiftus27

  • Members
  • Posts: 4395
Re: Two techstops
« Reply #5 on: March 16, 2012, 11:48:18 AM »
Sami, there is too much demand right now for ppl to consider this.  Ppl won't fly the double stops until they have no other option

highlander1715

  • Former member
Re: Two techstops
« Reply #6 on: March 18, 2012, 09:55:59 AM »
I experimented with two tech stops for vc10s for glasgow to sydney towards the end of JA5 and closed the route because it was impossible to make money.  During this period two stop long haul was common for example BAs Heathrow-Sydney was via Karachi and Singapore until the late 70s. Can't be recreated because Singapore is the largest airport in it's country.  (could have used Karachi but chose instead to do Tashkent and a smaller airport in Malaya can't remember which one now).
I will try some if I can afford the potential losses when I get my Brittania 302s.
Additionally it was common for these longest journeys to only be flown 3 times a week a frequency that would be punished by lack of demand in the game even though no one else is flying it at all and it the only way to get to the far flung outposts of fading empire.

Offline mattbailey

  • Members
  • Posts: 247
Re: Two techstops
« Reply #7 on: May 12, 2012, 08:37:24 PM »
I was.

Offline diskoerekto

  • Members
  • Posts: 150
Re: Two techstops
« Reply #8 on: May 12, 2012, 10:34:38 PM »
I am using 2 techstops and I am very happy with them. Actually, using a relatively fast jet (tu104) I am flying SBSP-EGLL faster than my direct flying competitors. I make good money out of those routes. Kudos :)
<img src="http://www.airwaysim.com/game/Banner/107/576/" alt="" width="450" height="90" border="0" />

 

WARNING! This website is not compatible with the old version of Internet Explorer you are using.

If you are using the latest version please turn OFF the compatibility mode.