Edit account
» Achievements
» Logout
Game Credits
Credit balance: 0 Cr
Buy credits
» Credit history
» Credits FAQ

Author Topic: Starting in JA  (Read 2680 times)

moberg

• Former member
Starting in JA
« on: March 07, 2012, 12:12:42 AM »
Hi all, I'm pretty new to this game and am looking forward to JA6.

So far I've only played the beginner's world and that was toward the end of the game world.

Looking through past posts it sounds like it is difficult to get used aircraft at the beginning of the game. What do most people do?  Keep a watchful eye on the market? Lease new?

What kind of aircraft do people try to start with? Are DC-3s too small to make money? Are the DC quads and connies worth it, or do their costs make them dinosaurs in the jet age?

Offline ZombieSlayer

• Members
Re: Starting in JA
« Reply #1 on: March 07, 2012, 03:47:55 AM »
Personal opinion, so anyone who wants to disagree or add to this please feel free.

In the beginning, I am a fan of the HS 748's and Convair's for short haul and the Bristol Britannia's for longer haul (they are slow but sip gas). The DC-3's will be available by the hundreds simply because in AWS their range is only 240nm. Avoid them. Other decent options are the L188, the Vickers Viscount, and the IL-18 (especially later models). For early jets, look at the Caravelles as later models (10 and 12) are profitable until the end.

Don
Co-Founder Elite Worldwide Alliance
CEO PacAir
Designated "Tier 1 Opponent"

Offline psw231

• Members
« Reply #2 on: March 07, 2012, 09:13:26 AM »
 JA6 will be a good next step for all members moving up from BW as it is a more forgiving full world and there are many ways to get an airline started successfully in this era.

Offline knobbygb

• Members
« Reply #3 on: March 07, 2012, 03:52:06 PM »
JA6 will be a good next step for all members moving up from BW as it is a more forgiving