Edit account
» Achievements
» Logout
Game Credits
Credit balance: 0 Cr
Buy credits
» Credit history
» Credits FAQ

Author Topic: Airline Mergers - Potentially a Different Approach  (Read 614 times)

Offline Bruizer

• Members
Airline Mergers - Potentially a Different Approach
« on: February 21, 2012, 09:13:03 PM »
Hello!
I see there's been discussion before of Airline Mergers and the responses clearly state what the obstacles are to the suggestions provided so far.

I have an idea that might be easier to implement in the game, but I'm a newbie so may be way off base, however I'd like to share my thoughts.

If Airline A and Airline B want to merge, the two payers would negotiate terms.  Once agreed to (and perhaps upon Admin approval), Airline B's assets, employees & routes would become part of Airline A.  Airline B ceases to exist and a deadline is given to Airline A to divest itself of any bases it may then have that are above the limits.  Admins could also require that the new, larger, Airline A divest itself of certain routes to ensure a competitive marketplace (anti-trust/anti-monopoly oversight).

My thought is that Player B (not Airline B) would receive a sum of money from Airline A in exchange for his airline.  He could then use those funds, plus whatever he had in the bank prior to the merger, to start up a new airline and begin from scratch.  The merger would likely contain a requirement that Player B's new airline not be based too close to his old base and might also contain requirements that Player B's new airline not serve certain cities until a certain date.  You wouldn't want to pay a handsome sum to acquire another airline only to have its former owner immediately become cash rich and start competing with you right after the merger.