AirwaySim
Online Airline Management Simulation
Login
Username
Password
 
or login using:
 
My Account
Username:
E-mail:
Edit account
» Achievements
» Logout
Game Credits
Credit balance: 0 Cr
Buy credits
» Credit history
» Credits FAQ

Author Topic: Fokker100  (Read 927 times)

Offline easy03

  • Members
  • Posts: 143
Fokker100
« on: December 13, 2011, 09:30:36 PM »
Hi

Thoughts please on the fokker100, thinking of ordering some but would like to get some hints, advice on how best to use it and does it make money compared to other similar jets.

Any players with experience of this a/c, would love to hear your thoughts

Cheers

Wayne

Offline LemonButt

  • Members
  • Posts: 1895
Re: Fokker100
« Reply #1 on: December 13, 2011, 09:51:56 PM »
As someone who has an order for 20+ on the books, I suggest you stay the hell away.  We don't need any more airlines ordering F100's and clogging up the production lines.

But seriously, it's a good plane.  The Boeing 717 is a good alternative if you can wait for it and don't want to try and beat the crowds ordering the F100.  There really is no secrets on how to use it--it's range is ~1500nm and like any other plane, the shorter the route the better.  The F100 basically replaces the BAC 1-11 as the 100 seater of choice and you'll find more than a few airlines anchoring their fleets with the BAC 1-11.  You should be able to make the F100 (or B717) the workhorse of your fleet and be wildly successful.

Offline easy03

  • Members
  • Posts: 143
Re: Fokker100
« Reply #2 on: December 13, 2011, 09:57:33 PM »
cheers for the quick response...

the 717 looks good also. with these aircraft though 3 routes a day is the bare minimum...right?

Wayne

Offline LemonButt

  • Members
  • Posts: 1895
Re: Fokker100
« Reply #3 on: December 13, 2011, 10:01:56 PM »
cheers for the quick response...

the 717 looks good also. with these aircraft though 3 routes a day is the bare minimum...right?

Wayne

I have F100 running 2x daily on 1400nm routes and turning nice profits (with business class).  If you have 3 routes/day you can go 2400nm/day assuming you max out your utilization.  That means you can fly a 1200/600/600nm or 800/800/800nm etc.  You should try to get 3x a day, but it's not always possible and if you have business class you can still turn good profits only flying 2x daily.

Online DHillMSP

  • Members
  • Posts: 1201
Re: Fokker100
« Reply #4 on: December 14, 2011, 04:15:20 AM »
Totally agreed on LemonButt's thoughts.  :)  Running an all-F100 fleet out of MSP right now and making quite a tidy profit per week (approaching $2m w/80% LF on 14 aircraft, with marketing surpassing 50 CI).  Thinking the Embraer E-Jets might wind up replacing these in my fleet eventually, but we're at least a decade from their introduction.

Nice thing about the F100 and 717...if you start with one and switch to the other, you'll at least have some engine commonality going on - if memory serves, they're both RR-powered (my personal preference).

Offline LemonButt

  • Members
  • Posts: 1895
Re: Fokker100
« Reply #5 on: December 14, 2011, 01:34:00 PM »
Totally agreed on LemonButt's thoughts.  :)  Running an all-F100 fleet out of MSP right now and making quite a tidy profit per week (approaching $2m w/80% LF on 14 aircraft, with marketing surpassing 50 CI).  Thinking the Embraer E-Jets might wind up replacing these in my fleet eventually, but we're at least a decade from their introduction.

Nice thing about the F100 and 717...if you start with one and switch to the other, you'll at least have some engine commonality going on - if memory serves, they're both RR-powered (my personal preference).

Important to note that the 717 is a large aircraft and F100 is a medium one, so 2 different pilot classes--can make it more difficult when you replace your fleet as you'll have to fire pilots and take a hit on CI.

Offline easy03

  • Members
  • Posts: 143
Re: Fokker100
« Reply #6 on: December 14, 2011, 03:52:01 PM »
Thanks for the advice.

Wayne

 

WARNING! This website is not compatible with the old version of Internet Explorer you are using.

If you are using the latest version please turn OFF the compatibility mode.