AirwaySim
Online Airline Management Simulation
Login
Username
Password
 
or login using:
 
My Account
Username:
E-mail:
Edit account
» Achievements
» Logout
Game Credits
Credit balance: 0 Cr
Buy credits
» Credit history
» Credits FAQ

Author Topic: New feature: Used aircraft market updates  (Read 3943 times)

Offline JumboShrimp

  • Members
  • Posts: 5992
Re: New feature: Used aircraft market updates
« Reply #20 on: September 29, 2011, 07:01:32 PM »
what was that? to make a good user interface now acomplicated interface that allows airlines to cheat any airline by allowing them to set the price to whatever they want yet the value of the aircraft isnt shown better than before? Or the fact that you still cant just filter a Manufacturer but instead now have to filter each individual aircraft famly?

Filtering on fleet (aircraft family) is a step in a good direction.

Removing market value (before other components are in place) is a very bad idea.

3 / week limit - I have mixed feelings about it, I think on balance it is not a good idea.

But "Calls to Broker" concept is a great idea, IMO

Calls to Broker was the biggest change programming-wise, and I think it was an effort well spent.  Other things people object to can still be fine tuned (hopefully) - while keeping all the good stuff.

you also took away one of the biggest parts of being in an alliance.

Maybe I missed this.  How does the change affect the alliance play?
Now granted you did add back most of the filters, which thanks, but can u add the Manufacturers filter back as well?

Offline Sami

  • Administrator
  • Members
  • Posts: 14538
    • AirwaySim - Are you the next Richard Branson?
Re: New feature: Used aircraft market updates
« Reply #21 on: September 29, 2011, 08:13:57 PM »
The filter's not working properly.  I put in Boeing 737-6789 and get the entire used market (or what I assume is the entire market) - starting with Airbus.

Just reload the page, you have still some old files in browser cache.

zilchster

  • Former member
Re: New feature: Used aircraft market updates
« Reply #22 on: September 30, 2011, 01:53:30 AM »
I have not made any calls in the last 8 or so, may I know why is it that I get a message saying that I have no calls left to the used market this week?

Can anyone explain, please?

Thanks

Offline JumboShrimp

  • Members
  • Posts: 5992
Re: New feature: Used aircraft market updates
« Reply #23 on: September 30, 2011, 02:23:39 AM »
I have not made any calls in the last 8 or so, may I know why is it that I get a message saying that I have no calls left to the used market this week?

Can anyone explain, please?

Thanks

I think the counter is not resetting.  Hopefully, Sami will take a look at it soon...

flightsimer

  • Former member
Re: New feature: Used aircraft market updates
« Reply #24 on: September 30, 2011, 02:50:34 AM »
Jumbo I beieve one of biggest parts of being in anallaince is the benefits u receive with respect to aircraft. For example in mt4 I was able to get over 50 aircraft q400's and c series aircraft all through alliance members.

However rethinking about it u really won't lose it if the 3 ac rule stays because u have 7 calls. But when I wAs first thinking about it if you have 6 airlines all feeding you one aircraft then you would use all of your calls just on updating to get alliance members planes.

Now if you reduce the numbers of calls this does come into affect.

I don't see any advantage with the calls though. It just means that all the people Who used f5 only get to do it once every day... Might as well just have it update once every day in that case.

F
Sorry for any major spellig errors or punctuation... Using iPad which sucks for typing....

gajamukhu

  • Former member
Re: New feature: Used aircraft market updates
« Reply #25 on: September 30, 2011, 04:56:36 AM »
I have not made any calls in the last 8 or so, may I know why is it that I get a message saying that I have no calls left to the used market this week?

Can anyone explain, please?

Thanks

I am experiencing the same problem. I am positive I made no calls to the used market between last Sunday night (12 Dec 2010) of this game week and Wednesday (15 Dec 2010). Despite this, my call balance came down to zero on Thursday (16 Dec 2010) after I made just a couple of calls!

According to the rules the counter resets on Sunday night -- is there a glitch?

GJ

flightsimer

  • Former member
Re: New feature: Used aircraft market updates
« Reply #26 on: October 01, 2011, 01:32:15 AM »
This change needs to be completely abolished for the first day of a new game... Everyone at my base airport has DC-6's but none were on the market when i entered the game... I waited a couple of hours and used the call and still none... So now im screwed with aircraft choices...

Offline FlyTO

  • Members
  • Posts: 260
Re: New feature: Used aircraft market updates
« Reply #27 on: October 01, 2011, 03:42:18 AM »
This change needs to be completely abolished for the first day of a new game... Everyone at my base airport has DC-6's but none were on the market when i entered the game... I waited a couple of hours and used the call and still none... So now im screwed with aircraft choices...

Bk and get another 7 calls?

flightsimer

  • Former member
Re: New feature: Used aircraft market updates
« Reply #28 on: October 01, 2011, 05:40:31 AM »
Bk and get another 7 calls?
u only get 1 call per day

Offline Sanabas

  • Members
  • Posts: 2161
Re: New feature: Used aircraft market updates
« Reply #29 on: October 01, 2011, 07:20:45 AM »
u only get 1 call per day

You get 7 per week. I've used multiple calls today, since there were no planes I wanted when my airline was created.

Offline Sami

  • Administrator
  • Members
  • Posts: 14538
    • AirwaySim - Are you the next Richard Branson?
Re: New feature: Used aircraft market updates
« Reply #30 on: October 01, 2011, 07:56:45 AM »
This change needs to be completely abolished for the first day of a new game... Everyone at my base airport has DC-6's but none were on the market when i entered the game... I waited a couple of hours and used the call and still none... So now im screwed with aircraft choices...

It makes no difference at all compared to old one. In the same situation without the calls feature there would not have been any of those DC-6s either if there were none now. The new system has not changed the way the planes appear to the market.

You have 7 calls a week, apparently have used 2 and have 5 left (see the manual). You can get 3 planes during the first week so it's not even close yet. I would try again a bit before the first day ends since by then most of the people have settled in and got their planes bit the market still refreshes on regular intervals.

flightsimer

  • Former member
Re: New feature: Used aircraft market updates
« Reply #31 on: October 01, 2011, 06:31:20 PM »
It makes no difference at all compared to old one. In the same situation without the calls feature there would not have been any of those DC-6s either if there were none now. The new system has not changed the way the planes appear to the market.

You have 7 calls a week, apparently have used 2 and have 5 left (see the manual). You can get 3 planes during the first week so it's not even close yet. I would try again a bit before the first day ends since by then most of the people have settled in and got their planes bit the market still refreshes on regular intervals.

I hit the button once and it says i have no more calls for the week. Now that i think about it though, i did keep getting an error messages as i was trying to filter to the DC-6 fleet right after i called the market which i think happened 5 or so times. But If the list shown to you doesnt update unless i call the market, then how will i be able to see the aircraft as they get put on the market if i cant update it? Now if this is an isolated case thats one thing, but others have said there have been problems with the calls as well.

My point is with this system i cant tell when aircraft are now on the market because i only got 1 chance to update it in the whole 24hrs of the first day. If a DC-6 or anything else came to the market say 5min after i called, then im not going to see it.

What i am saying should be done is make it completely how it used to be with new aircraft just showing up on the market without having to call for the very first day which runs at 24hr long.
« Last Edit: October 01, 2011, 06:34:10 PM by flightsimer »

Offline Sami

  • Administrator
  • Members
  • Posts: 14538
    • AirwaySim - Are you the next Richard Branson?
Re: New feature: Used aircraft market updates
« Reply #32 on: October 01, 2011, 07:07:20 PM »
The market reloading does not happen unless you specifically press that button, even if you hit F5 on the page or something that way. If you somehow get it to reload, and deduct a call, without pressing the 'call' button I'd like to know .. since it shouldn't do that and I have not managed to do that either (firefox and ie were tested when it was made)

And you have 7, not 1, calls during the first week. You can use them all already at the first day if you wish.

flightsimer

  • Former member
Re: New feature: Used aircraft market updates
« Reply #33 on: October 01, 2011, 07:18:53 PM »
The market reloading does not happen unless you specifically press that button, even if you hit F5 on the page or something that way. If you somehow get it to reload, and deduct a call, without pressing the 'call' button I'd like to know .. since it shouldn't do that and I have not managed to do that either (firefox and ie were tested when it was made)

And you have 7, not 1, calls during the first week. You can use them all already at the first day if you wish.
Obviously i need to open a bug thread because you arent getting what im saying... It must just be a bug that specifically happened to me...

Offline JumboShrimp

  • Members
  • Posts: 5992
Re: New feature: Used aircraft market updates
« Reply #34 on: October 01, 2011, 07:27:30 PM »
Obviously i need to open a bug thread because you arent getting what im saying... It must just be a bug that specifically happened to me...

In general, call counter bug was fixed (works fine in MT5).  I am not in JA5, so I am not familiar with how it works during the first 24 hour day... 

Riger

  • Former member
Re: New feature: Used aircraft market updates
« Reply #35 on: October 05, 2011, 01:39:53 AM »
I am not sure if the feature has been removed or if I am just a little blind .....

Is there any mechanism to show the configured range of the aircraft in the aircraft listing?  I think it used to be called the "Technical View"

Thanks

Richard


Offline JumboShrimp

  • Members
  • Posts: 5992
Re: New feature: Used aircraft market updates
« Reply #36 on: October 05, 2011, 02:44:32 AM »
I am not sure if the feature has been removed or if I am just a little blind .....

Is there any mechanism to show the configured range of the aircraft in the aircraft listing?  I think it used to be called the "Technical View"

You can click on the aircraft, to bring up the detail, and you will see all the info on the aircraft, including the range as configured (under Operational Info).

Offline ArcherII

  • Members
  • Posts: 1935
Re: New feature: Used aircraft market updates
« Reply #37 on: October 05, 2011, 03:55:19 AM »
I think he means the ability to see the range map and range/payload graphic. I surely miss it.

Offline Sanabas

  • Members
  • Posts: 2161
Re: New feature: Used aircraft market updates
« Reply #38 on: October 05, 2011, 04:53:43 AM »
Nah, I think he does mean the technical view. Not a problem so far in JA (because none of the available planes have multiple engine/MTOW specs), but I'd certainly be missing it in DotM if that wasn't in 1.2 I can pull up all the 757s, but I only want the 3890 range ones. With technical view, that's easy to see. Without technical view, I'd need to open a dozen individual pages to see which of the planes were the type I wanted.

flightsimer

  • Former member
Re: New feature: Used aircraft market updates
« Reply #39 on: October 05, 2011, 03:37:31 PM »
Sami, Can you please make it so when you do a filter and hit back it goes back to the previous page and not all of the aircraft? having to do new filters every time i dislike the aircraft i looked at is getting really old and annoying...

 

WARNING! This website is not compatible with the old version of Internet Explorer you are using.

If you are using the latest version please turn OFF the compatibility mode.