Edit account
» Achievements
» Logout
Game Credits
Credit balance: 0 Cr
Buy credits
» Credit history
» Credits FAQ

Author Topic: Small prop feasibility  (Read 1713 times)

Coltav

• Former member
Small prop feasibility
« on: August 19, 2011, 03:21:31 AM »
AWS followers.  I am a relative newbie to the game and am curious for input as to whether developing an airline with short haul routes of small prop aircraft is feasible.  Can one make pay the bills and indeed make money building an airline of small turbo props (Saab 2000 or Embraer 120ER or ATRs on routes of a few hundred miles).  Perhaps with daily demand of 60 to 100 pax/daily.  If I were to run run 2 or 3 flights into cities, totally uncontested, with that small of a market, can I make enough to build a viable company?  Currently I have all small jets with capacity of 65, but I'm curious if the cost savings of small props would be a better fit on such short routes?

Any advice or wisdom would be appreciative!!

Thanks.

Offline Kaskoblue

• Members
Re: Small prop feasibility
« Reply #1 on: August 19, 2011, 12:35:38 PM »
Hi Houston!
Indeed it is possible to run a profitable airline with small pros. I started Blue Bell MK IV (check out my route network - and all routes actually turn in a profit), based at SOF, Bulgaria, with a fleet of F27 and EMB 110 Banderiantes, flying profitably (very tiny) to some routes with an estimated demand of just 10 pax/day. Currently I operate 4 EMB 120ER:s, which replaced my 3 Saab 340A:s, and 8 Focker F50:s (in addition to my 12 Focker F70 jets) and it works quite well. A Focker 50 (or F27, ATR) should definitely make more money than a 65 seat jet.

Offline Pilot Oatmeal

• Members
« Reply #2 on: August 19, 2011, 01:42:47 PM »
in general anything below 30 seats is useless, this guy above is having his profits taken away by the smaller aircraft, where the majority of the money is coming from the Fokkers.... nice work though none the less ;)

Offline Kaskoblue

• Members