AirwaySim
Online Airline Management Simulation
Login
Username
Password
 
or login using:
 
My Account
Username:
E-mail:
Edit account
» Achievements
» Logout
Game Credits
Credit balance: 0 Cr
Buy credits
» Credit history
» Credits FAQ

Author Topic: IL-96  (Read 1181 times)

Offline RushmoreAir

  • Members
  • Posts: 887
IL-96
« on: June 22, 2011, 06:11:01 PM »
Hello!

I was wondering if anyone has tried the IL-96 in this time scenario.

Seeing as I was having troubles at first, I'm a little behind the ordering curve, so getting mainstream Longhaul aircraft will be hard.  Does the IL-96 perform well?

Just looking for peoples' opinions.

Offline CUR$E - God of AirwaySim

  • Members
  • Posts: 4028
Re: IL-96
« Reply #1 on: June 22, 2011, 06:16:44 PM »
It's not available till ~1993 and no, it will not perform well...

Offline RushmoreAir

  • Members
  • Posts: 887
Re: IL-96
« Reply #2 on: June 22, 2011, 09:16:22 PM »
In that case, does anyone have a L1011-500 vs. 767 vs. A310-300 argument?

I've used 767s before with great success, but I need LH flights in the 5500nm range.


Offline BobTheCactus

  • Members
  • Posts: 1244
    • AeroBlogger.com
Re: IL-96
« Reply #3 on: June 22, 2011, 09:45:13 PM »
In that case, does anyone have a L1011-500 vs. 767 vs. A310-300 argument?

I've used 767s before with great success, but I need LH flights in the 5500nm range.



B767>L1011>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>A313
Editor of AeroBlogger
If you're interested in blogging on aviation 3x/month or more:
http://AeroBlogger.com/Write

ucfknightryan

  • Former member
Re: IL-96
« Reply #4 on: June 22, 2011, 10:22:09 PM »
B767>L1011>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>A313

The massive > is (I suspect) less true than it used to be since the size of the A313 has been corrected in AWS, but I'd still put them in that order.  The 767 is still massively ahead though.

Razor2

  • Former member
Re: IL-96
« Reply #5 on: June 23, 2011, 06:44:37 PM »
I've used a fleet of A310 an earlier game and they can be used, but the 767 is essentially much better.

Offline CUR$E - God of AirwaySim

  • Members
  • Posts: 4028
Re: IL-96
« Reply #6 on: June 23, 2011, 07:07:11 PM »
The A310 are updated (bigger, extended range for A310-300) since this game world.

They are now a good addition if you already use a big A300 fleet and if you can't legitimate 767 fleet group for just a hand full of them.

If you don't use A300 it's not very smart to order the A310-200/-300 although lots of people in DotM#2 do this. It's better to use 767-200ER/300ER instead.

Ilyushin

  • Former member
Re: IL-96
« Reply #7 on: June 23, 2011, 10:03:03 PM »
I turned IL96 with a profit in TMT2 but you're way better off with a 764...

WAY better...

Offline ZombieSlayer

  • Members
  • Posts: 3920
Re: IL-96
« Reply #8 on: June 23, 2011, 10:34:06 PM »
B767>L1011>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>A313

I did a seat mile cost analysis on the 313 vs. L15 and the 313 is actually cheaper to operate now by about 15%, but still lags slightly behind the 762ER

Don
Co-Founder Elite Worldwide Alliance
CEO PacAir
Designated "Tier 1 Opponent"

Offline CUR$E - God of AirwaySim

  • Members
  • Posts: 4028
Re: IL-96
« Reply #9 on: June 23, 2011, 10:45:41 PM »
I did a seat mile cost analysis on the 313 vs. L15 and the 313 is actually cheaper to operate now by about 15%, but still lags slightly behind the 762ER

But the L1011 is available in the 70s and the A310-300 in 1986.

Offline ZombieSlayer

  • Members
  • Posts: 3920
Re: IL-96
« Reply #10 on: June 23, 2011, 11:17:11 PM »
Which is why I operate L15's now and I will replace them with 313's (and some 306R's) when deliveries start!

Don
Co-Founder Elite Worldwide Alliance
CEO PacAir
Designated "Tier 1 Opponent"

 

WARNING! This website is not compatible with the old version of Internet Explorer you are using.

If you are using the latest version please turn OFF the compatibility mode.