AirwaySim
Online Airline Management Simulation
Login
Username
Password
 
or login using:
 
My Account
Username:
E-mail:
Edit account
» Achievements
» Logout
Game Credits
Credit balance: 0 Cr
Buy credits
» Credit history
» Credits FAQ

Author Topic: 737-700ER  (Read 4381 times)

LOT767

  • Former member
737-700ER
« on: February 17, 2011, 08:03:24 AM »
Anyone use the 737-700ER at or near its max range? Does it make money on LH flights, just curious what other players who are using them on route of 3000+ nm have to say about them, thanks!

Online JumboShrimp

  • Members
  • Posts: 5992
Re: 737-700ER
« Reply #1 on: February 17, 2011, 09:41:12 AM »
Look at it this way:  Suppose you have ~ $90mil in cash.  You have 2 options what to do with it:
1. Leave it in SamiBank and earn 0.1%
2. Buy 737-700ER and fly it 4,000+ miles.

Your return will be better with option 2.

But would 737-700ER ever make enough profits to more than pay for itself?  As in leasing it and hoping to make profit?  Probably not.

Offline pascaly

  • Members
  • Posts: 405
Re: 737-700ER
« Reply #2 on: February 17, 2011, 10:34:57 AM »
In another game I flew them from Baltimore in the US to Amsterdam and Heathrow and a few other European ports, they were okay on routes that wouldn't support anything larger, but they were part of a 50+ strong fleet of other 737NG.  On their own, I doubt they'd do any good.

LOT767

  • Former member
Re: 737-700ER
« Reply #3 on: February 17, 2011, 06:34:44 PM »
Alright, thank you. Makes sense, I started out a little late in the game so I doubt I will even get to the point where I can own one. I am flying out of Savannah and was toying with the idea of flying it on a KSAV-PHNL route, kinda curious to see what would happen. Its a 4080nm route with a demand of 130.....

Offline pascaly

  • Members
  • Posts: 405
Re: 737-700ER
« Reply #4 on: February 17, 2011, 08:49:04 PM »
Well, if you've got the room (money wise) lease one and see what happens.  But only if you can afford to lose money on it in case it isn't profitable.    The other thing to consider is the amount of C or F class seating.  If you can get 5F and maybe 10C to 15C per flight, I think you'll find it's worth it.  But, if it's nearly all Y class, I wouldn't bother.

altmants

  • Former member
Re: 737-700ER
« Reply #5 on: February 18, 2011, 01:33:45 AM »
I operate two 737-700ER going 3800 range out of Newark to Europe. I currently make about 400,000 per week on that plane. However, You have to OWN the 737-700ER for it to make a profit.

If you are leasing the aircraft....stay away!

LOT767

  • Former member
Re: 737-700ER
« Reply #6 on: February 18, 2011, 02:06:31 AM »
I operate two 737-700ER going 3800 range out of Newark to Europe. I currently make about 400,000 per week on that plane. However, You have to OWN the 737-700ER for it to make a profit.

If you are leasing the aircraft....stay away!

Can I ask what type of config, you are flying with? Or, is it the standard 120?

Thanks

Offline romeozulu

  • Members
  • Posts: 452
Re: 737-700ER
« Reply #7 on: February 18, 2011, 12:17:40 PM »
Hi,

Why not use it with an All C class config on transatlantic routes. Maybe you could make good profit ?

Offline ArcherII

  • Members
  • Posts: 1935
Re: 737-700ER
« Reply #8 on: February 18, 2011, 03:30:40 PM »
Hi,

Why not use it with an All C class config on transatlantic routes. Maybe you could make good profit ?

In ATB I had one 737-ER doing SFO - LHR with all C and F cabin. It made over 1 mil per week and leased.

LOT767

  • Former member
Re: 737-700ER
« Reply #9 on: February 18, 2011, 03:38:25 PM »
In ATB I had one 737-ER doing SFO - LHR with all C and F cabin. It made over 1 mil per week and leased.

Nice, I was tinkering around with that idea. Just never followed through, sounds like it works though?

Offline ArcherII

  • Members
  • Posts: 1935
Re: 737-700ER
« Reply #10 on: February 19, 2011, 04:03:35 AM »
Nice, I was tinkering around with that idea. Just never followed through, sounds like it works though?

But only if you already operate 737s. I did in ATB. Currently in MT3 I'm operating an exclusive Airbus fleet for the 150-seat airplanes, and I wish the "corporate" 319 had the range to go to Europe or USA from Brazil as the 737W did.

 

WARNING! This website is not compatible with the old version of Internet Explorer you are using.

If you are using the latest version please turn OFF the compatibility mode.