Edit account
» Achievements
» Logout
Game Credits
Credit balance: 0 Cr
Buy credits
» Credit history
» Credits FAQ

Author Topic: Is it worth joining an alliance?  (Read 1013 times)

• Former member
Is it worth joining an alliance?
« on: January 03, 2011, 09:07:43 PM »
I am new to the game, so would first like to say hello and express how excited I am about joining AirwaySim.

I am currently operating a small airline and we are trying to increase our load factors.  Of course we have reviewed our price strategy and have also invested in a sophisticated marketing campaign in our home and destination cities.  However we are wondering if joining one of the many alliances will give a significant boost, relative to the cost of joining.  Typical charges look to be about 1% of revenue, which sounds very small, but this is a lot to a small startup airline like ours.

I would appreciate any comments or advice from more experienced AirwaySim operators, and look forward to hearing from you in due course.

All the best,

• Former member
Re: Is it worth joining an alliance?
« Reply #1 on: January 03, 2011, 10:27:55 PM »
For an airline your size, I would say no, not until you get quite a bit larger. Also, just a warning, make sure you keep good fleet commonality. Having Embraer 110s and 120s is OK (though they are very similar, so it would be better to choose just one) but don't get any more fleet types until you have 15 planes (keep it at 2 fleet types max until then). Another warning, it is hard, nearly impossible, to run an airline entirely on 17 passenger planes in Airwaysim,which is what you seem to be trying to do. Yet another warning, I have found that 17-20 passenger planes (like your Embraer 110s) have trouble making money on flights more than 200 miles; for your Embraer 120s, keep it at 300 or 400 miles max. 

• Former member
« Reply #2 on: January 03, 2011, 11:20:33 PM »