Edit account
» Achievements
» Logout
Game Credits
Credit balance: 0 Cr
Buy credits
» Credit history
» Credits FAQ

Author Topic: Saturated Market  (Read 1371 times)

Offline LemonButt

• Members
Saturated Market
« on: December 29, 2009, 09:04:58 PM »
So I'm still a newbie to this game and I'm trying to ramp up the learning curve as quickly as possible which of course means playing as much as possible.  As a result, I started a 3rd game with Dawn of the Millennium and have already bankrupted a few times to relo to another airport.  After tediously researching an airport and moving there, I find I am basically too late to do anything.  My dilemma is first I only have $3 million to start.  Second, we all know you need a decent sized aircraft for your first route or you won't make money due to crushing overhead costs.  Third, is that every route with demand of 100 passengers or better has already been blanketed by existing airlines and the avail seats on the major routes usually are 2x the seat demand and the prospects of getting even 50% capacity are slim.  I have found a small handful of routes that have not been taken yet from a hub, but have given up on the hub as an airline wouldn't be sustainable on the slim pickings and huge disadvantage a startup has with company/route image against established airlines.

So the question is, what is a guy to do?

Offline Daveos

• Members
Re: Saturated Market
« Reply #1 on: December 29, 2009, 10:47:16 PM »
Hello,

I've had a look at your situation in DOTM and despite you managing to find an airport where no-one is based, it doesn't look like a good choice.  It closes at night too, which is never a good move.