AirwaySim
Online Airline Management Simulation
Login
Username
Password
 
or login using:
 
My Account
Username:
E-mail:
Edit account
» Achievements
» Logout
Game Credits
Credit balance: 0 Cr
Buy credits
» Credit history
» Credits FAQ

Author Topic: [ok] Flight Numbers  (Read 3444 times)

Offline DarkVenegance

  • Members
  • Posts: 19
Re: Flight Numbers
« Reply #20 on: July 21, 2010, 06:20:15 PM »
Definitely option 1 for me, 2 might be too confusing for the non-power-user.

Offline bdnascar3

  • Members
  • Posts: 213
Re: Flight Numbers
« Reply #21 on: July 21, 2010, 07:37:29 PM »
option 2 is closer to what real world airlines do

Dookz

  • Former member
Re: Flight Numbers
« Reply #22 on: July 21, 2010, 08:15:15 PM »
Any cons to option 1 and 2? Ill pick whatever is best for shorthauls that flly multiple routes 7 days a week with 1 route flying 6 days instead to make room for an A check.

Offline jimsom

  • Members
  • Posts: 146
    • jimmyringsell.se
Re: Flight Numbers
« Reply #23 on: July 21, 2010, 08:26:15 PM »
How would option 2 look like under the timetable pages?
With same dep/arr times on different days, it would still look like this?

1------    XXX500    1000    2200
-2-----    XXX500    1000    2200
--3----    XXX500    1000    2200
---4---    XXX500    1000    2200
/ jimsom

L1011fan

  • Former member
Re: Flight Numbers
« Reply #24 on: July 22, 2010, 02:06:49 AM »
I'd like to have the choice of going back to A-B-C-B-A again or adding a second hub (one or the other of course). One flight number only A-B-C and one flight number C-B-A. But the main point is I'd like a choice. Thanks.

Offline Jona L.

  • Members
  • Posts: 3361
Re: Flight Numbers
« Reply #25 on: August 14, 2010, 03:56:56 AM »
How would option 2 look like under the timetable pages?
With same dep/arr times on different days, it would still look like this?

1------    XXX500    1000    2200
-2-----    XXX500    1000    2200
--3----    XXX500    1000    2200
---4---    XXX500    1000    2200

That's how I understood the caption of the topic :) that is what I am searching for... GIVE ME MICRO MANAGEMENT ;D I love that :)
Exactly that is what I (and I guess many others too) need :)
So:

+1 (and for the others add another 2.000 ;D )

Jona L.

Offline Sami

  • Administrator
  • Members
  • Posts: 14539
    • AirwaySim - Are you the next Richard Branson?
Re: Flight Numbers
« Reply #26 on: October 04, 2013, 05:59:58 PM »

Offline meiru

  • Members
  • Posts: 745
Re: Flight Numbers
« Reply #27 on: October 04, 2013, 07:04:17 PM »
thank you for the redirection of the thread...

I think the easiest solution is to leave it how it is, but to remove the restriction, that flight numbers have to be unique.
They can be used once a day but have to be on the same route. And then, you can group them when showing statistical pages (e.g. profit of a route, delay of it and so on) and group them in timetables. Grouping in timetables should be done in a way, that you only group them, if they're completely the same (flt-nr, route, time, ac) ... but not if there's a difference... or, you build 2 options to choose from... and also group them ignoring the aircraft ... but that's difficult, because often the time would not match then...

... I think, like this you don't have to change the database itself, but only some queries ...

well, I thougt about it again... and I think, you should only group the flights, if they're exactely the same... same flt-nr, same time, same ac ... that's even easier and in fact that's what everyone wants... I think it's ok if you have 2 flights, if you fly the tuesday flight witz 744 instead of 772 like all other days... I think it's even ok for MD81/MD82 differences... it doesn't have to be complicated if it's not needed... :-)
« Last Edit: October 04, 2013, 07:45:36 PM by meiru »

Offline Sami

  • Administrator
  • Members
  • Posts: 14539
    • AirwaySim - Are you the next Richard Branson?
Re: Flight Numbers
« Reply #28 on: October 07, 2013, 03:17:28 PM »
Route editor supports now same flight numbers on different routes to the same destination, as long as they are on different days. Route planning views etc. will be shortly updated too


http://www.airwaysim.com/forum/index.php/topic,26356.msg277270.html#msg277270

« Last Edit: October 07, 2013, 04:47:05 PM by sami »

Offline Mr.HP

  • Members
  • Posts: 2730
Re: Flight Numbers
« Reply #29 on: October 07, 2013, 03:34:35 PM »
Route editor supports now same flight numbers on different routes to the same destination, as long as they are on different days. Route planning views etc. will be shortly updated too

Even with routes not depart at the same hours?

Offline LemonButt

  • Members
  • Posts: 1895
Re: [ok] Flight Numbers
« Reply #30 on: October 08, 2013, 01:40:32 AM »
I just tried this for the first time, editing a 7 day schedule I had to have all the same flight number.  When listing the flight number in the timetable view, can you put an astrisk or something behind the flight number so a player knows it is a merged 7 day schedule?  This makes life easier when moving things around.

Also, can you make it so the "create another route like this for the next day" preserves the previous flight number by default?  This would make it easier to keep things tidy and utilize the 7-day scheduling to the fullest.

Offline LemonButt

  • Members
  • Posts: 1895
Re: Flight Numbers
« Reply #31 on: October 08, 2013, 01:59:51 AM »
Even with routes not depart at the same hours?

I just tried it and yes--oddly enough it works, which is odd to me...

 

WARNING! This website is not compatible with the old version of Internet Explorer you are using.

If you are using the latest version please turn OFF the compatibility mode.